That Crucial First Blog Post Of 2016

happy-new-year-2016Happy New Year, Modern Philosophers!

After being temporarily distracted by that New Girl marathon on TBS, I have regained my focus and am finally ready to write my first blog post of 2016.

I know you’ve been waiting patiently for it, and I apologize for the delay.

The first post of the year really sets the mood for the next 12 months, so I’m going to be super ambitious and try to make this one funny, thought provoking, interactive, and an unforgettable thrill ride that will haunt your dreams.

If I fall short of achieving that, it’s your fault for not dreaming properly.

I made an argument in last night’s post against New Year’s Resolutions.  While I don’t make such a list, I do try to set a few goals for myself to make the year more exciting.

I’m going to share some of those goals with you now…

I hope to share more in the new year.  Look at that.  I can already check off that one.

keep writingI’d like to see my work published somewhere other than on this blog.

I think it’s time to expand the reach of the Modern Philosopher beyond the confines of WordPress.  I submitted several posts to The Huffington Post last month, but never heard back from them.

I’m not good at the whole “getting my work out there” thing, so if anyone would like to suggest a site or publication that might be a better fit, I would welcome the input.

I truly do enjoy writing this blog, and I think that there are many more people out there who would convert to the Modern Philosopher’s way of Deep Thought if I could only get my words to their hungry minds.

WordPress has been very good to me, but it is time to grow.

This is also the year to look for an agent or manager again.  If I want my writing career to move forward, I really need someone in that capacity working for me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAs a screenwriter, I have had some very bad experiences with writer reps.  While they might have brought me some nice pay days, ultimately, we never seemed to have the same vision for my future.

I’ve had two screenplays produced as feature films, and negotiated both of those deals on my own.  I’ve also optioned several scripts and taken on writing jobs without the assistance of an agent or manager.

However, having a full time job really limits the amount of time I have to network and get my screenplays out there.  I’d like more paid writing jobs, know I could handle multiple freelance gigs, and would love to write for shows outside of Maine.

I thought this blog would be an excellent way to showcase my work and bring in job offers, but it’s only gotten me The Nite Show gig so far.

In order to really take the next step in my writing career, I need someone who has the time and connections to make my dreams a reality.

If anyone reading this is an agent, or has a good lead on one, I’m finally open to the idea of giving representation a shot again.  Please just drop me a line.

blog-loveI’d like 2016 to be the year that I become the first blogger in The House on the Hill’s storied history to crack one million views.

The House on the Hill is over one hundred years old, but it’s never been home to a blogger with one million blog hits.

I begin the new year about 236,000 views shy of that goal, and really want to be celebrating that milestone before the ball drops again in Times Square.

I promise to keep writing, and I hope you will keep reading and sharing my posts.

Let’s make this my Million Hits March!

Finally, my most important goal of 2016 is to take on a roommate.

House on the HillThe House on the Hill is an amazing place to live, but I have been on my own for well over a decade.  The lonely philosopher on the hill routine is getting old.

Hopefully, 2016 is the year that Melissa will bring her adorable Irish self across the ocean to become The Lady of The House on the Hill.

If I only achieve that one goal, 2016 will be the most amazing year, Modern Philosophers.

As you know, Melissa faithfully reads this blog and the comments section.  So, if some of you were to post comments urging her to move here, she might be inspired.

You make writing this blog so much fun, Modern Philosophers.  Thank you for your continued support, and any help you can offer with my achieving my goals for 2016.

Happy New Year!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Love, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to That Crucial First Blog Post Of 2016

  1. Ah Melissa….Austin is a creative one, so I would think there would never a dull moment be.
    And the oft snow covered House on the Hill looks quite inviting!

  2. Ritu says:

    Go on Melissa! Make our Austin the Not So Lonely Philosopher!!!!!!

  3. nolanwrites says:

    Haha! Thanks for the support ladies!! You’ll all have to wait in suspense to see if Austin and I make meet that goal. Happy New Year! 🙂

    • Austin says:

      This is why I love her. She is building anticipation and making you come back to keep reading. I’ll get to one million hits in no time. Thanks, Sweetheart. 🙂

  4. Josh Wrenn says:

    I hpe she does….but if I were you I’d move there! More history and so damn beautiful!

  5. Reblogged this on Suzie Speaks and commented:
    For my first ‘Top Blogger to Follow in 2016,’ I’d like you to meet Austin. Funny, creative and if you read the post you’ll see he’s a man with a plan! You can also find him on Twitter @Austin_Hodgens… Enjoy!

  6. The Hook says:

    Good luck to us both, Austin.

  7. SD Gates says:

    A couple of things. The House on the Hill is beautiful, especially covered in snow. Secondly – New Girl is great, isn’t it. My sons and I watched that and really enjoyed it immensely. Have you watched “Weeds” – that is a great series too. Presently binge-watching “Downton Abbey” – now for something completely different. I hope you reach and perhaps surpass your goals in 2016!!!!!!!!!

  8. Steve says:

    I hope all your dreams come true in 2016. Happy New Year!

  9. jan says:

    Who could resist becoming First Lady of the House on the Hill.

  10. April says:

    First Lady of the House n the Hill!! Mellissa move in with this man!!!!

  11. OneDizzyBee says:

    Eighteen years ago, my then-fiance, now-husband sold his house in London, quit his job, packed up all his things and moved to Chicago to marry me. He tells me he’d do it all again if he could and 99% of the time, I believe him. Take the plunge, Melissa! 🙂

  12. tunisiajolyn84 says:

    I just discovered this blog thanks to April’s blogging meet and greet and I’m loving your blog already. I wish all your goals come true especially The First Lady one. Happy New Year! And I look forward to reading more from you. Also, you reminded me to look at the new season of New Girl on Netflix so thanks! Hopefully, they still show episodes on the site. *crosses fingers*

  13. Lisa Dingle says:

    Best of luck Austin!

  14. 80,000 words and writing—nearing the end of my 3rd novel—exciting. I’m not quite sure what’s going to happen! I love said writing technique as well, sir.

Leave a Reply

