A Foot Note To The Year’s First Run

Jan 228 is the key number to keep in mind, Modern Philosophers, when forming Deep Thoughts about my first run of 2016.

It was 28 degrees when I hit the road.

It had been 28 days since my last run.

I’d put on 28 lbs since Christmas Eve.

Okay, perhaps I was pulling your leg a little.  It was 28 degrees outside, but while it’s been a long time since my last run, it has not been four full weeks.

Plus, even I couldn’t eat enough holiday treats to put on that much weight in a little over a week.  There’s no way I’m getting on the scale, though, to find out what the actual number is.  Just trust me that it is less than four touchdowns.

Yes, I have been slacking off on my Running Program.  This is nothing new, of course, but at least I have some better excuses than usual this time.

I have been sick.  Some bizarre stomach bug has been going around the office and has bitten me at least twice, causing me to miss a day and a half of work.

I never miss work, so you know I had to be very sick.

jan 1I also broke my toe.

Just thinking about that has caused me to make a face much similar to the one in the photo on the left.

I hate feet.  They creep me out.  There is a very strict No Bare Feet Policy at The House on the Hill which is punishable by, among other things, lifetime banishment for repeat offenders.

You don’t know what it did to me to break my toe.  I had to not only look at my feet (blah!), but I also had to check them out when my toe was freakishly discolored.

It made me sick to my stomach.  King Klutz had finally inflicted an injury that almost killed him, as I nearly died from the sight of my technicolor pinkie toe.

The pain was awful, too, and there was no way I was going to run on it and risk prolonging the foot nightmare.  Zeus forbid I should slip on the ice and snow and do further damage!

What if they had to put me in an open toed cast, and I was forced to stare at my ugly monkey boy feet for 6-8 weeks???

No way.  Not even an option.

So even though I’ve not kept up my five days a week running schedule over the last few weeks, I do have a decent excuse.  Plus, I’m already way ahead of the game merely by running a couple of weeks in December, as I didn’t run at all last Winter.

Jan 3At this point, I’ve run half the days of 2016.

That is an incredible pace that I might not be able to maintain.  However, if I manage to run three days a week until Spring, I will be quite content.

Thus far, it has been a much milder Winter than last year, but an Arctic Blast is scheduled to hit Maine this week.  I am going to play it by ear before I commit to a regular running schedule.

As for today’s run, it was not bad given that I’ve been inactive and have one little piggy that still went “Ouch! Ouch! Ouch!” all the way home.

We had some snow and ice tumble from the sky this week, so my usual running route was much more treacherous than the last time I tackled it.

Using the sidewalk was out of the question, but the streets weren’t so bad.  The main street I run on has a very wide shoulder.  It was mostly clear except for a few spots when I had to dart out into the road.  Luckily, it was a quiet Saturday morning and there wasn’t much traffic to dodge in those instances.

I passed a couple of runners on my way back, and that made me happy.  The idea of being a part of a running community helps keep me warm and toasty on cold Winter runs, so exchanging greetings with the others was nice.

Today’s run was 3 miles, and I was back at The House on the Hill in 29:00.  Of course, I made it home slightly faster than that, but for the life of me, I could not get off my gloves to turn off my stopwatch.

Jan 4Sigh.

I am a handful, even for myself.

Bottom line, the first run of 2016 is in the books.  I did not need any medical attention to complete the run, and my body is still in decent shape despite whatever is going on in the foot area.

I hope to continue with my Inspiration Through Perspiration Program in the new year, but don’t be surprised if my runs aren’t as frequent as Maine battles another Winter.

How about you, Modern Philosophers?  Have you gotten in your first workout of 2016 yet?  How do you exercise when the weather outside is frightful?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to A Foot Note To The Year’s First Run

  1. nolanwrites says:

    Great job on getting back into running. Keep up the good work…you’re giving me the motivation I need to get my arse back out there hitting the pavement in 2016! 🙂

  2. Ocean Bream says:

    Great job running half the days of 2016! I managed to cycle half the days of 2016, and am hoping to do five days a week, early in the morning. Muscle memory is my biggest hope, haha. Well done, and I am sorry to hear about your broken toe! How did that hold up during the run?

  3. Ali Isaac says:

    Ah… I haven’t run at all in December. I was up to 4 miles at that point. Do you think I should start at 2 or 3 miles or just try to resume at where I left off?

  4. Amanda Lyle says:

    Good work! A 3-mile run is good going. I gave up running 5 months ago *hangs head in shame* I had planned to do the marathon and everything…Fat chance of that. I’m so unfit.

  5. D. Parker says:

    Ouch, hope your toe is better. And your sickyness. 😉
    Great job on the running, then again, you have great motivation. 😉

  6. Thank you for asking, I did my first run of 2016 on New Year’s Day, which felt suspiciously like a run-of-the-mill Saturday to me (in spite of it being in fact a Friday). I got two blog posts and a feeling of accomplishment out of it, but, oh, I’m missing the 40 degree weather that blessed us early in December! When things get too awful, I run in place on my Mom’s mini-tramp (she has a treadmill now) in front of the television. I think have a Boris Karloff movie on my DVR I can look at later today if I can get myself motivated. Come to think of it, I do need another blog post…

Leave a Reply

