8 Reasons Why Sunday Is Too Cool For School

SundayIt’s the first Sunday of 2016, Modern Philosophers, and before we all sit down for a delicious Sunday Dinner with family, I wanted to write a post about what makes Sunday so awesome.

Some people see Sunday as the first day of the week, while others insist it’s the last.  Now, I don’t think that the calendars lie, but I refuse to get into the middle of this heated debate.

What I believe we can all agree upon, however, is that Sunday rocks.  Here are 8 reasons why Sunday is way too cool for school…

Brunch.  I’m not sure why other days of the week aren’t allowed to host brunch, so my hat is off to Sunday for negotiating the exclusive rights to this amazing meal.  Sometimes, breakfast just isn’t enough, Modern Philosophers, so please put some prime rib on my plate next to the eggs and bacon, and my life will be perfect.

jetsFootball.  Does it surprise you if I tell you I am typing this post while fully decked out in Jets gear, Modern Philosophers?

J-E-T-S, Jets! Jets! Jets!

Football is the perfect sport for Sundays.  There’s action, lots of scoring, cheerleaders, and a little something called football snacks.

On the last Sunday of the season, with playoff hopes riding on the outcome of the games, football will keep my brain occupied and my belly content all day.

Best Nickname.  While it is known as Sunday in a more formal setting, when around friends, Sunday goes by the awesome nickname of “Day of Rest”.  Who doesn’t love a day that commands you to relax and take it easy?  That order is coming from God Himself, so it’s like a mortal sin to do any sort of work on Sunday.

Sunday wants you to take a load off.  Please don’t offend it.

GodSunday Inspires Rebellion.  Speaking of God, I was raised by a stepmother who was a devout Catholic.  That meant Catholic School and then Church on every Sunday and Holy Day of Obligation.

Once I got out from under her thumb and went off to college, though, I stopped going to Church.  And it felt so good to rebel.

Every Sunday now, when I don’t go to Church, I feel just a little bad ass.  You know what?  It suits me well!

Monday Buffer.  Sunday is super cool because it protects us from the biggest bully of the work week, Monday.  Every week, Sunday bellies up next to Monday, stares it down, and tells it to back the hell off while we enjoy the weekend.

I cower at the mere thought of Monday, Modern Philosophers, so the fact that Sunday never backs down to it makes Sunday my hero.

Zombies 2Zombies.  Maine’s Zombie population is well monitored and no longer much of a threat, but what I’m talking about are the Zombies on AMC.

Sunday night means The Walking Dead or Fear The Walking Dead, followed by Chris Hardwick’s Talking Dead geek fest.

Sunday is definitely the place to be if you want to see some Zombies, but not actually encounter them in a life threatening manner.

Sunday Blog Share.  My buddy Suzie over at the Suzie81Speaks blog hosts an awesome blog party every Sunday.  Are you working that hashtag every week, Modern Philosophers?

If you’re not hanging with Suzie on Sunday, you are not optimizing your blog’s potential.  Sure, Suzie is a Brit who likes soccer, but just look past those things.  She’s really nice.

I love to spend a lazy Sunday browsing the blog share, discovering new blogs, reading great posts, spreading a little Blog Love via retweets, and following cool bloggers.

psychoEnvironmentally Friendly.  I usually run on Sundays, but on the Sundays that I don’t (like today), it very often becomes a Showerless Sunday.

I can spend the day in my sweats and Jets gear, while conserving water.  I’m all about saving the planet.

So if you were on the fence about Sunday’s ability to sit at the cool kids’ table, I hope I have convinced you that it is The Fonz of the week.  I could keep going, but the title of this post limits me to listing only 8 reasons as to why Sunday rocks.

Do you agree that Sunday is so cool that you need to put on a sweatshirt?  What would you add to the list?  Or do you think Sunday is a nerd?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 8 Reasons Why Sunday Is Too Cool For School

  1. Catherine Johnson says:

    👍

  2. The C-Sweet says:

    I’m doing some deep thinking here because I have a bunch of reasons why I’ve traditionally hated Sundays…..your arguments for loving it are compelling however…considering a switch over…..I’ll get back to you….

  3. Gail Kaufman says:

    I liked Sundays more when The Good Wife was on.

  4. I love Sunday. Being Catholic, I like to start the day with an early Mass, then I have the entire day to play…brunch with friends, a long walk, calls from the kids, etc. A good day.

Leave a Reply

