Monday Morning Coffee Club: 1/4/16

Giant mugThe first meeting of The Monday Morning Coffee Club in 2016 is now called to order, Modern Philosophers.

Some of you haven’t filled out your membership packets yet, so please see one of the interns before you leave.  If I were you, I’d deal with short brown ponytail, big hoop earrings because she seems to be the only intern who knows what she is doing.

I hope you all had a wonderful and prosperous Holiday Season.

Of course, the Holidays aren’t quite done at The House on the Hill.  Wednesday is The Feast of the Birth of the Modern Philosopher, which is always a particularly exciting day around these parts.

There is also a new Holiday on the books this year as Friday is My Sweet Irish Girlfriend’s Birthday.  Some of you have asked what the age difference is between Melissa and I, and now you know.  I’m two days older, so we’re basically the same age, but she still loves to tell everyone that she’s dating an older man.

It’s two days, Sweetheart.

Winter has finally arrived in Maine.  We had a big snow storm last week, which was immediately followed by an ice storm.  Now we’re getting an Arctic Blast which should plunge us back into the Ice Ages for the next couple of days.

All I know if that it’s 87 days until April 1.  Yes, the countdown is real.

jetsThe Jets were a major disappointment this weekend.  This shouldn’t be anything new, just like frigid Winters in Maine, but they had overachieved this year.

All they had to do yesterday was win and they would be in the playoffs for the first time in nearly a century.

Of course, they lost.  To the coach they fired last year.  In ugly fashion.

Now, all I will remember of this otherwise great season, is the letdown of the final game.  Isn’t that how it always works, Modern Philosophers?

In exciting news, I started an account on Pinterest this weekend.  You should all follow me and I will follow back.  It’s a fun way to spread Blog Love while also staring at photos of delicious desserts and pinball machines that The House on the Hill desperately needs.

I’m pretty sure that clicking on the above link will allow you to magically follow me on the site.  If it doesn’t work, blame the intern with the buzz cut and turtleneck fetish because he is the one who told me it would.

That’s about it for me.  There’s plenty of coffee and hot cocoa in the kitchen, as well as some leftover Christmas cookies.  If you don’t celebrate Christmas, think of them as stale Holiday cookies.

Hang in there, stay warm, and remember there are only seventeen hours left of Monday!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 1/4/16

  1. If you buy pinball tables its all systems party at the house in the hill! I love pinball, should I ever win the lottery I’m opening and arcade!

  2. The Cutter says:

    My Steelers fan co-worker was quite excited about the Jets loss.

  3. The Hook says:

    I’m not a coffee guy, but I’ll take a cup of this blog any day!

    • Austin says:

      Thank you, sir. I’m happy to say it is now available in Canada by the cup, carafe, or barrel. Once you finish the barrel, you can then jump inside it and ride it down Niagara Falls!

  4. drishism says:

    My Bengals made the playoffs… but they have a back-up quarterback. So… at least made the playoffs …

Leave a Reply

