Tell The Wise Men I’m All Stocked Up On Myrrh

birthday 2Today is the Feast of the Birth of the Modern Philosopher.

Some refer to January sixth as Little Christmas, The Epiphany, The Twelfth Day of Christmas, or the day the Three Wise Men finally arrived to gift Baby Jesus with gold, frankincense, and myrrh.

At The House on the Hill, I just call it my birthday.

Thank you to everyone who sent me Happy Birthday wishes and kept the alerts going off on my phone all days with texts and Facebook posts.

It was nice to be remembered on my special day!

Happy Birthday, Austin!Of course, the special occasion got the Deep Thoughts flowing.  Specifically, I pondered what I would want the Three Wise Men to bring me, were they to show up at The House on the Hill today.

I’d politely ask them to keep their camels off my lawn.  Then I’d invite my guests inside, offer them Snapple, and wait politely until it was time for my gifts.

Hopefully, they wouldn’t bring me the same things they gave Baby Jesus.  That was a different time, and the Son of God and I definitely have different tastes.

However, I fear that these three might not be the best at picking out Birthday presents.

3 kings

Of course, if Mark, George, and Cube showed up at my door, I’d have no worries.

This is what I think the modern day Three Kings would give a Modern Philosopher Birthday Boy…

goldGold.  Some gifts stand the test of time, Modern Philosophers.  Gold is one of them.

I don’t need that much, either.  Just enough to pay off my mortgage, buy a nice car, and provide My Sweet Irish Girl with the kind of life she deserves.

Camels are strong beasts.  I’m sure they could haul more than enough gold to make all my Birthday wishes come true.

Ironically, it is Hump Day…

red hot dogsFrankfurters.  Of course, since this is America, we call them hot dogs.  As this is Maine, we prefer our hot dogs red.

I know hot dogs aren’t healthy for me, but it’s my Birthday and I feel like I’m going to live forever.

Since immortality would probably be way too stressful for me to handle, I’d be better off loading up on red hot dogs tonight, and lopping a century or two off my life expectancy.

It would be pretty awesome to bust out the grill, and cook those red dogs until they burst.  The Three Wise Men would probably be starving after their long trek to Maine, so I’m going to assume they’d be down with this simple, but delicious Birthday Feast.

mirthMirth.  The gold is going to buy me financial security and the hot dogs will make my tummy smile (at least for a little while), but what I really want on my Birthday is some laughter in my life.

Look at my official Birthday Photo, taken earlier today.  Does that look like a Modern Philosopher who is having a Birthday Blast?

No, it does not.  Trust me.

Work is stressful, winter is annoying, and I miss Melissa very much.

A year’s supple of mirth would be the perfect gift for the Modern Philosopher, who has next to no happiness in his life at the moment.

Of course, today hasn’t been as bad as that photo depicts.  After all, it is the Twelfth Day of Christmas, Modern Philosophers.

And on the Twelfth Day of Christmas, my true love gave to me…

cakeMelissa surprised me by having a Birthday Cake delivered to work.  How amazing is My Sweet Irish Girlfriend?

I tried to use my words to express how much this meant to me, but I still don’t think I got across to her how much this moved me.

So even though my Sweetheart will not be here tonight, I have her cake to keep me company.  Sure, it’s not as beautiful as Melissa, but it is quite easy on the eyes.

No, the Three Kings aren’t getting any!

Remember, you can wish me a Happy Birthday by following me on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Love, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Tell The Wise Men I’m All Stocked Up On Myrrh

  1. howardat58 says:

    Considering your job (profession) it’s not Myrrh you need, it’s Myrrth

  2. jan says:

    I know what you mean about frankfurters – bad for you but every now and then (especially on a birthday) – why the hell not! Happy B-day!

  3. Mark Aldrich says:

    Happy day of the birthday day!

  4. ksbeth says:

    happy birthday austin and what a sweet surprise!

  5. onlybadchi says:

    happy happy!! 🙂

  6. patricemfoster says:

    Happy Birthday

  7. Glenda says:

    Many felicitations on your Natal Day!

  8. Happy Birthday (belated)!

  9. Belated Happy Birthday! And, yes, that cake is amazing and your girlfriend is wonderful 🙂

  10. The Cutter says:

    Hot dogs can actually be an effective diet food if used properly. As for the cake…happy birthday!

  11. donedreaming says:

    Belated Happy Birthday Austin! Hope you had a fabulous day – or have something good planned for the weekend (have you seen Star Wars yet?) xx

  12. D. Parker says:

    Hope you had a birthday as cool as you Austin!!! 🙂
    And I’m sure that ‘diet’ cake was delightful – lucky you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

