Monday Morning Coffee Club: 1/11/16

Coffee ClubGood morning, Modern Philosophers.  Welcome to another edition of The Modern Philosopher: Monday Strikes Back!

Yes, Monday has returned, but at least I have new graphics with which to battle the most miserable day of the week.

In an attempt to be more attractive to Pinterestians (patent pending on that word), I have been fiddling with Canva to create some new images for my posts.

I’m not very good at it, and when My Sweet Irish Girlfriend attempted to help yesterday, I got a bit pissy with her.  Yes, I am sometimes seduced by the Dark Side.

Sorry, Sweetheart, and thank you for your help.

The fact that I’m awake this early, writing the Monday Morning Coffee Club post, should be a dead giveaway that I did not hit the Powerball jackpot this weekend.  I gave it a shot, pouring a massive two dollars into the system, but I was not rewarded.

I guess I used up all my luck getting Melissa to fall for me.

I had to be in it to win it, but I apparently also had to be in it to get my hopes up, plan for a future as a millionaire, and then have those dreams crushed.  Oh well.

The big news of the weekend, Modern Philosophers, was that I finally went to see Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

awakensAs you all know, it has been my destiny to see this movie, but I had to put off destiny because I don’t like crowds.  Or buying tickets in advance on line.  I firmly believe that you’d never catch a Jedi using Movie Tickets dot com!

Yes, I had to use the Force to keep from hearing any spoilers, but my powers are strong in that area.  You see, I had to quit my Jedi training shortly after learning how to block out spoilers on social media because I was married at the time, and J wanted me to go back to work so that she could continue to go to school.

Bum deal because I could be off saving the galaxy right now rather than slaving away as a desk monkey.

The things we are forced to do because of our marriage vows, am I right?

Anyway, I thought the flick was awesome!  You can check out My Force Has Been Awakened! if you want to read more about my thoughts on the movie.

Needless to say, my dreams were Star Wars themed last night.  Sadly, they mostly involved my wandering around a desert planet looking for water and someone to transport me back to The House on the Hill, but they were still cool.

I’m definitely wearing one of my hooded togas to work today to feel more like a Jedi.  Plus, it’s raining, so a hood simply makes sense.

Since I never completed my Jedi training, I have to get ready for work now, rather than grabbing my lightsaber and heading out to save the galaxy.

There is plenty of coffee and some leftover movie popcorn.  Enjoy.  May the Force be with you, and remember, there’s only seventeen hours left to Monday…

If the Force is strong with you and you want to follow me on Pinterest, just click the link below…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 1/11/16

  1. grannyK says:

    I recently discovered Canva, but haven’t had much time to really do anything on it. Have a great Monday, and better luck next time on the lottery!

  2. patricemfoster says:

    Canva is a great experience use more for Twitter post & Pinterest My passion…Its those beautiful pins, think I am becoming addictive. Glad you final awoken and saw the movie after Christmas. (StarWar The Force Awakens) …..Speaking of Coffee its free Here: http://patricemfoster.com/change-monday-morning-blues/

Leave a Reply

