You’re So Cheeky!

Cheeky“You’re so cheeky!”

Is a

Turn of phrase

I hear

Quite frequently,

Now that

I’m dating

A Sweet Irish Girl.

When she says it,

She’s not

Giving out,

Even though

It might sound

Like she is.

She’s simply

Having the craic

With me.

“You’re so cheeky!”

Seems to mean

That I’m cocky,

And a bit

Of a

Smart arse,

And if

My Sweetheart

Ever were

To say it

Seriously,

I’d be sure

To correct

My foolish behavior.

However,

Whenever

She says

“You’re so cheeky!”

In that

Adorable Irish Brogue

That makes me

Weak

In

The

Knees,

It is

Inevitably followed

By a giggle.

My father

Once told me

To do everything

In my power

To make

The pretty ones

Laugh.

So this

Silly American

Is going

To continue

To be

So cheeky,

As it appears

To be working

On the woman

I adore.

If it

Ain’t broke,

Don’t fix it,

You cheeky

Bastard.

Those big, beautiful

Green

Irish eyes

Are smilin’

At me,

And my cheeks

Are flushed

With love.

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Humor, Love, Philosophy, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to You’re So Cheeky!

  1. Josh Wrenn says:

    I can’t even begin to express how happy I am for the two of you and your connection. Should serve as an example to people just how possible love is.

  2. OneDizzyBee says:

    Oh my god. My heart. This is painfully adorable. All silliness aside, here I am, sitting in my living room, cheering on the love of two people I’ve never met.

  3. Ocean Bream says:

    How ‘awwwww’. That is literally what went through my head when I reached the last verse. πŸ™‚

  4. adamjasonp says:

    Sigh. πŸ™‚ You may not be a great poet, but to quote someone I just read, β€œIf it Ain’t broke, Don’t fix it, You cheeky Bastard.”
    I’m so happy for the two of you! lol πŸ˜€

  5. livingincyn says:

    This is so sweet. ❀

Leave a Reply

