Monday Morning Coffee Club: 1/18/16

Coffee ClubDespite creating a new identity for myself and investing in an expensive cloaking device, I have still been found by Monday, Modern Philosophers.

I had a feeling this would be the case, but for one amazing weekend, I was hopeful that I would manage to escape the clutches of my least favorite day of the week.

And what did Monday bring me by way of an offering?

Darkness, cold, and leftover snow.  What a delight!

At least we are halfway through January.  According to the countdown clock in my study, April 1 is only 73 days away.  If I can maintain my sanity for another ten and a half weeks, Winter will be just a bad memory, and something new will come up to drive me crazy.

Counting down the days until April is what gets me through the Maine Winter, Modern Philosophers.  While 73 days might seem like a long time to you, Winter starts in October around here, so we’ve already survived about 110 days.

This weekend was definitely one for the bunker.  Another storm hit Maine, and I had no intention of going outside in it.

I hunkered down inside The House on the Hill, made a big pot of chili, and watched the NFL playoffs.  The games were all pretty exciting, and I will once again state that the NFL needs to change its overtime rules.

The Packers made that miraculous comeback only to lose to a coin flip?  Come on!

Since it is the quest for the coveted Lombardi Trophy, I think that they should play an entire quarter in overtime.  If it’s still tied after that extra fifteen minutes, then they can play by their archaic rules.

At the very least, both teams should get a possession.  It shouldn’t all come down to properly calling heads or tails.

Let’s finally move into the 21st Century, NFL!

shamrock-loveI enjoy the weekends because they allow me more time to speak to Melissa.  Because of the five hour time difference and our work schedules, we don’t get to talk too much during the week.

On the weekend, though, we can chatter away like a couple of overexcited teenagers on a sleepover.

Come to think of it, a sleepover with My Sweet Irish Girlfriend is exactly what I need right now.  Mondays probably wouldn’t be so bad if I were waking up next to her!

Looking forward to the day when we are not only living on the same continent, but also sharing a House on the Hill.

As much as I don’t want to, Modern Philosophers, I need to wrap up this post and begin the lengthy process of mentally preparing myself for work.  The interns are here with their nets and tasers in case I try to lock myself in the bedroom instead of heading to the office, and none of them look pleased.

Mondays are no fun!

Feel free to stop by and have some coffee.  Do not touch the chili, though.  That is off limits and any attempt to eat it will lead to immediate expulsion from the Monday Morning Coffee Club.

Remember, there are only seventeen hours left in this horrible day…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 1/18/16

  1. grannyK says:

    **whispers** I don’t work today. Benefit of working for a teacher LOL. I hope your Monday is okay!

  2. donedreaming says:

    Happy Monday Awesome Austin! 🙂

  3. The Cutter says:

    Mondays aren’t that bad for me. Tuesdays though – they’re the real killer.

  4. Great point about the coin toss. So true.

  5. I’m with you on the issue of the coin flip. What was that? The NFL should be ashamed of themselves. Anyway, lets get Monday out of the way and get on with the week. Have a nice evening, Austin.

Leave a Reply

