Monday Morning Coffee Club: 1/25/16

Monday Morning Coffee Club | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherI was having a dream about being in a bakery, ordering dinosaur egg shaped croissants for a party at work, when the alarm went off and declared that Monday had arrived.

Now I’ll never know, Modern Philosophers, if I was able to negotiate a decent price for my unique order, or if my picky coworkers enjoyed the treat.

I’d also like to know if the theme of the work party was dinosaurs, eggs, French food, or things that are extinct.

If it was the last one, which would be my guess, I’d really like to add Monday to that list…

Once again, Monday is here to ruin a perfectly wonderful weekend.  Monday is like that weird guest who shows up at a party with dinosaur egg shaped croissants, and just totally kills the vibe for everyone else.

It wasn’t a particularly exciting weekend, but it was two days away from work, and that’s the only qualification a weekend needs to meet to be awesome in my book!

I was thrilled that Maine escaped the clutches of Winter Storm Jonas.  Not only am I tired of shoveling out from under blizzards, but I’m also not a fan of the Jonas Brothers.

I had to go to the Post Office this weekend, which was such an adventure that it in inspired last night’s Sundays With Satan Short Story.  You should check it out.

Does it make me spiteful that I celebrated the Patriots’ loss in the AFC Title Game?  I mean, it wasn’t a major party…just a few people, some drinks, and a big tray of dinosaur egg shaped croissants.

Sorry, but it’s hard to be a Jets fan in Patriots Country, and I wasn’t in the mood for two weeks of crowing about the Pats making it to another Super Bowl.  Now I’ll just have to listen to a day of whining about how the referees missed calls and robbed Brady and his Bunch from their destiny of winning Super Bowl 50.

Now you know how it feels to be a Jets fan, bozos!

I got a lot of writing done this weekend.  I’m particularly pleased with Saturday’s blog post about how https://moviewriternyu.wordpress.com/2016/01/23/the-first-order-endorses-jeb-bush-for-president/.

The First Order Endorses Jeb Bush | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherIt’s always fun to mix Star Wars with real life, and I’m a huge fan of the artwork I produced on Canva for the post.  The one on the left was my favorite.

Melissa said it looks like a movie poster, and I see that now that I look at it.  I’d definitely hang that over my bed.

And I wish Melissa was in the bed to enjoy it, too.

There’s really not much to look forward to in the week ahead.  Originally, there was a taping of The Nite Show scheduled for Wednesday night, but that got canceled a couple of months ago due to a scheduling conflict.

I’m still scheduled to leave work early on Wednesday and then be off on Thursday because of the taping, and I’m tempted to leave those plans in place.

I guess we’ll see how the week goes before I make up my mind.

The interns are telling me that I need to wrap up this post so I can get ready for work.  Man, those kids can be annoying.  Especially the one with the buzz cut and freckles, who seems to think he’s in charge, but obviously doesn’t realize that people with freckles never hold positions of power in modern society.

There’s plenty of coffee and some regularly shaped croissants, so help yourself.  Hang in there, and remember that there’s only seventeen hours left of Monday…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 1/25/16

  1. susielindau says:

    Go Broncos! I’m assuming you’ll be cheering for them…

  2. The Hook says:

    Greatest.
    Meme.
    Ever!

Leave a Reply

