Monday Morning Coffee Club: 2/1/16

Monday Morning Coffee Club | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherHoly crap, Modern Philosophers, it’s February!

This means that the first four months of Winter in Maine are over, and I just need to survive the last two in order to see Spring again.

The next sixty days are going to be rough, but I have the confidence that I can make it through to April 1.

The struggle is real, and I am up for the challenge, even if there are another nine Mondays standing between me and the sweet sunshine of April.

The weekend was relaxing enough to recharge my batteries to a point where I resent having to go back to work today.

I managed to get some decent writing done and focused on trying to improve my blog’s presence on Pinterest.  I’m still not seeing much traffic by way of exuberant pinners eager to read something witty and funny, but I know that readers don’t just appear by magic.

I am following the advice given to me by some kind and talented bloggers, and hoping that it will lead to more exposure for my blog down the line.

And if it doesn’t, it’s no big deal.  I will just keep writing because that is the whole fun of having a blog.  After more than three years, I still enjoy the challenge of posting entertaining and thought provoking material on a daily basis, and I look forward to the feedback and interaction with my fellow Modern Philosophers.

Time for a confession.  I’m a Grease fan.  I saw the movie for the first time at a drive in theater when I was like 8.  It was a double feature with Jaws.  How cool of a combo is that for a kid that young?

greaseI don’t usually enjoy musicals, but Grease is definitely a personal fave.  So, of course, I had to stay up last night to watch Grease Live.  Gotta say, I was quite impressed.

While I expected Julianne Hough to be great as Sandy, I had no idea what to expect from Danny.

It wasn’t until about fifteen minutes in that I realized the actor playing Danny was Mike Warren from Graceland.  I watched that show religiously and had no idea that straight laced, by the book, FBI Agent Michael Warren could sing and dance so well.

Maybe Graceland wouldn’t have been canceled if the show had produced a few song and dance numbers.  Just a Deep Thought for all those TV execs out there looking to boost ratings for shows with below average numbers.

The interns are signalling for me to wrap it up.  The one that looks a little like Rizzo, but not in a good way, has informed me that if I don’t hit the shower now, I might never get off the couch and go to work.

And that would be a bad thing, Rizzo Lite?

Monday is definitely not the word, Modern Philosophers, but it is what’s on the calendar for today.  Help yourself to some coffee and feel free to watch Grease Live, which is still on the DVR.

Remember, there are only 17 hours left to this horrible day.  You could pass some of that time by following me on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 2/1/16

  1. markbialczak says:

    Tolerate Monday as well as possible, Austin. Only 28 days until March. And pitchers and catcher report before that next flip of the calendar, even!

  2. Monday’s not so bad! We’re all here and in our desks somehow. It’s a miracle every week. 🙂 Following you now on Pinterest. *Salute* –Sondi

Leave a Reply

