Friday Night Think Tank: Super Bowl 50

Friday Night Think Tank: Super Bowl 50 | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherWell, it’s Friday night, Modern Philosophers, and it has been quite the day for your friend in the toga.

Maine was hit by another of Snow Miser’s snowstorms today, and I think the annoying Ice Imp caught the meteorologists by surprise.

What was supposed to be 2-4 inches, turned out to be so much more.  It snowed hard all day, and Snow Miser’s wrath was falling faster than the plows could clear it.

When I left work, I fell in the parking lot.  It’s quite a spill when a guy my size goes down, Modern Philosophers, and I am aching in various places as a result.

The drive home was perhaps my most harrowing ever.  The highway was barely plowed, and the only way to make the journey was by proceeding quite cautiously in the path dug out of the snow by the car in front of me.

My hands are still cramped from how tightly I had them clenched to the steering wheel, but I survived that leg of the trip.  Of course, the screenwriter in me loves an epic ending, and the ascent of my driveway will lead to a week of nightmares.

I eventually left my car somewhat sideways in the driveway while I cleared away the snow, and then finally tucked away Zombie Car in the garage for a good night’s rest.

We can still head out to the Think Tank, but I beg you to take your time and use extreme caution.  No Deep Thought is worth shattering a bone.

Who’s ready to join me?  I’ve got hot cocoa and Super Bowl snacks…

This week’s topic: Super Bowl 50 is this weekend.  Are you rooting for the Broncos or the Panthers?  Do you think Marco Rubio will make a rousing speech declaring himself to be Super Bowl Champion?  Do you have a favorite Super Bowl memory?  What’s your go to Super Bowl snack?  Do you prefer the commercials to the game?

Friday Night Think Tank: Super Bowl 50 | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherBasically, let’s just have a free for all Philosophical discussion about the Super Bowl.

As I wrote in last night’s post, I have never had the privilege of rooting for my beloved Jets on Super Bowl Sunday.  Their only Super Bowl performance took place before I ever hit the field of life.

As a result, the Super Bowl is really just an excuse to eat some tasty snacks, check out the awesome commercials, and kinda pay attention to the action on the field.

I do have a soft spot for Peyton “Omaha” Manning, so I would like to seem him win and then immediately retire.

There’s nothing like going out as a Champion.

Not that I would know, but I assume it’s an incredible feeling.

I’m going to try to not overdo it on the Super Bowl snacks this year, but Buffalo Wings are definitely what I like to devour during the big game.

I guess I really just enjoy the pageantry of it all.  I’m a football fan, and it’s fun to watch the two best teams square off for the Lombardi Trophy.  I just pray that the game isn’t a snoozer as Super Bowl blowouts are as boring as a soccer match.

The commercials make it very hard to plan my bathroom breaks.  I don’t want to miss anything good, and it’s sacrilege to use the restroom during Super Bowl action.  This means I’ll probably just have to put a port-a-potty in the living room.

Friday Night Think Tank: Super Bowl 50  | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherIt would be nice, though, if just once in my lifetime, the Jets could make it to the last game of the season.

I’d like to experience the Super Bowl with something on the line.  I bet that would be quite the rush.

At least the Patriots aren’t playing this year.  I can’t stand how smug Pats fans get when Brady and the Boys make it to the Super Bowl.

I just hope it’s a good game, the chicken wings are yummy, and Snow Miser doesn’t ruin it all with yet another Winter Storm.  Shoveling during the Super Bowl is too much!

Before you get geared up for Super Bowl 50, call an audible and follow me on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: Super Bowl 50

  1. grannyK says:

    Over the last 2 years, we have only had Netflix and have not seen a game at all. I do like to watch football and my son and I have missed it! I feel too out of touch to even take a side. I do hope you enjoy your weekend, and I hope you didn’t hurt yourself too much in the fall.

  2. JED says:

    Well since I’m in North Carolina you’d think I’d pull for the Panthers, which I am. But the Broncos have been my team since the John Elway era before they won a Super Bowl (except a brief deviation where I started following Peyton Manning and the Colts then Manning became a Bronco and all was right with the world) so – Now, I have a headache….

  3. I’m a Colorado native and raised to be a Broncos fan. My friend owns a bowling alley and is hosting a huge party there. There will be little bowling happening, as we will be watching our guys make up for our previous SB appearance and give Manning a respectable last game (most of us predict it will be his last regardless of the outcome).

    Also, I relate to the Snow Miser’s BS. We got 18″ here last weekend and are still digging out. I’m ready for spring.

    I hope you recover from your fall quickly.

  4. I hope you aren’t feeling too bruised this morning!

    My favorite Super Bowls are XLII and XLVI, in both of which my beloved Giants beat the evil Patriots. I will live off of those wins for a few more years as we are currently bottom-feeding.

    I must keep it in the Manning family and root for the Broncos. Really, I’m just hoping it won’t be all lopsided and there will be an abundance of good food & drink to be had!

  5. adamjasonp says:

    It was worse than the estimated amount of snow here, too. Shovel, then have to shovel again… Only half a foot, but still.

  6. The Patriots, how everyone feels about them and feels about their fans… The Patriots are the Yankees of football.

Leave a Reply

