Friday Night Think Tank: I’m With Cupid

Friday Night Think Tank: I'm With Cupid | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherWe made it to Friday night, Modern Philosophers!

I am thrilled to be home, and all bundled up safe and sound at The House on the Hill.  Snow Miser is bringing Maine quite the Valentine’s Day gift with a combination of frigid wind chills and another snowstorm.

How I do enjoy being his Valentine!

Next year, I hope he just brings chocolate.

At least we have our Deep Thoughts to keep us warm over the holiday weekend.

Are you ready to head out to the Think Tank for our weekly Philosophical Exercise?  I had the interns start a fire in the hearth and make us a giant pot of hot cocoa.

There might even be Valentine’s candy…

Who’s going to be my Philosophical Valentine?

This week’s topic: Valentine’s Day is this weekend.  Are you a fan of the holiday?  Do you think it’s biased against those not in relationships?  How do you celebrate Valentine’s Day?  Any special plans this year?  And the bonus question, which I hope you will all answer: Melissa says that women don’t buy gifts for men on Valentine’s Day.  Are you in agreement with this Philosophy?

As you can tell from my red toga with the giant hearts and tiny Cupids on it, I am a big fan of Valentine’s Day this year.

I'm With Cupid | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherAnd why wouldn’t I be?  After years of moaning on this blog about being alone, I am madly in love with the lovely Melissa.  My Sweet Irish Girlfriend has turned my heart’s frown upside down, and she has given my Inner Hopeless Romantic reason to hope again.

Sure, the woman I adore might currently be living on a giant Leprechaun Colony on the other side of the ocean, but that doesn’t mean I won’t be enjoying Valentine’s Day like a man whose heart is aflutter.

Melissa’s gift arrived safely, and she has been forced to stare at the package for almost two weeks now because I have refused to allow her to open it.

She might not like surprises, but I wanted her to have something to open on Sunday.

I look forward to when we can spend every holiday together because I am head over heels in love with my Lass from the Emerald Isle, and once we are living in the same place, every day will seem like a holiday to me.

I do think Valentine’s Day discriminates, and I feel badly for anyone who is alone and wishes there was a Special Someone with whom to celebrate.  I encourage those folks to hang in there because I felt the very same way on the 14th of last February.

Now I’m as a giddy as a man who is in love with someone who is way too good for him.

Yes, Modern Philosophers, miracles do happen.

Valentine’s Day might be a silly holiday, but when you’re in love, it’s just one more chance to show your Significant Other how significant he or she is to your happiness.

I think Melissa is wrong about women not buying presents for men, but I’m not going to complain.  Her love and patience are already way more than I deserve.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Would you like to be my Pinterest Valentine?  Just click below to Be Mine…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Holidays, Humor, Love, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: I’m With Cupid

  1. grannyK says:

    Of course women can buy presents, too! I did for my husband. Maybe I was breaking a rule!

  2. Dr. Rex says:

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    Valentine’s Day … around the corner! To one and all ….. ❤

  3. mamalisa4 says:

    I got to say I think everyone likes to feel loved, both women and men. A little something special is nice for both men and women. Your happiness is infectious and you have spread your joy through this blog. 😄. Great post

  4. donedreaming says:

    Not a fan, it’s a money making exercise. Love is for every minute of every day, not a once a year show with overpriced flowers and overbooked restaurants. I saw many anxious men wandering the shops today looking for valentines cards and gifts that would express their feelings. When did a warm embrace, a kiss, an ‘I love you’ not become enough?

Leave a Reply

