Monday Morning Coffee Club: Presidents Day 2016

Monday Morning Coffee Club: Presidents Day 2016 | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherHappy Presidents Day, Modern Philosophers!

As is my holiday tradition, I am dressed as one of our greatest Presidents to honor all the men who have served this great nations as Commander in Chief.

Since I’m not a fan of ice and snow, I thought I’d go on record as saying “I Like Ike” and go as President Eisenhower.  I do look pretty snazzy!

Presidents Day 2016 also marks the dawn of a New Ice Age in Maine.  It is currently -12 degrees, and I believe that the wind chill is in the negative triple digits.

I’m worried that a pack of woolly mammoths is going to ruin my front lawn as they charge down my street in an attempt to flee another iceberg.

It is damn cold out there, and I wish the President would issue an Executive Order for Spring to begin immediately.  Maybe he could even have Snow Miser tossed into a dark cell somewhere and forgotten about until next Presidents Day.

The holiday inspired this Deep Thought on Twitter this morning…

While I’m fairly certain there will never be a President Trump after his performance at Saturday night’s Valentine’s Formal/Republican Debate, the Mad Mouth of Manhattan did inspire a blog post that went through the roof yesterday.

If you haven’t read https://moviewriternyu.wordpress.com/2016/02/14/did-trump-just-give-us-an-awesome-valentine/ you can click on that link and check it out.

Monday Morning Coffee Club: Presidents Day 2016 | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherSadly, I have to work on this National Holiday.  I bet Ike would have made sure my office was close.  That was one of the reasons people liked him so much, you know!

At least it’s a short week for me.  The Nite Show goes back into production after its Winter Hiatus, so I will be busy all week writing monologue jokes and attending the taping.

I then get to spend part of my Writer’s Day Holiday by doing something All-American: filing my taxes.

Every year, I head over to the library where some very nice strangers take care of my taxes for free.

God Bless America!  Although, I could do without the unholy income tax…

In other writing news, I had a second post published on The Good Men Project this weekend.  This is one that I wrote exclusively for the site, so the only way to read it is to head over there.

The link to that article is in this post: https://moviewriternyu.wordpress.com/2016/02/13/check-out-my-valentines-day-post-on-the-good-men-project/. I hope you can find the time to read it and share it if you like it.

I guess it’s time to make sure the pipes haven’t frozen, and that there’s a large enough path in the ice flows for me to get my car out of the driveway.

Help yourself to coffee and leftover Valentine’s candy.  Remember, there’s only seventeen hours left to this frigid day…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Philosophy, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: Presidents Day 2016

  1. grannyK says:

    I am working today as well. Have a great Monday!

  2. Thankfully I was off today… I really enjoyed your post, and will have to be back to read more soon@=!

Leave a Reply

