Friday Night Think Tank: Show Me The Money

Friday Night Think Tank: Show Me The Money | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherHappy Friday, Modern Philosophers!

It’s been a busy night at The House on the Hill.  I have a new post on The Good Men Project tonight, and I’ve been working on promoting it, while also talking to another site about writing some more original posts.

Once again, Modern Philosophers, I want to thank those of you who have been sharing the GMP post on social media.  It really does mean a lot to me that you are supporting my work and helping me get my writing out to new readers.

We do have such a nice little community here!

It’s time to head out to the Think Tank for our weekly Philosophical Exercise.  I asked the interns to set up a sundae bar because I was really craving ice cream with my Deep Thoughts tonight.

Don’t worry…all the thinking will burn off whatever calories we ingest!

Are you ready to join me in the Think Tank?

This week’s topic: I filed my income taxes yesterday and will be getting a refund.  What do you do with the money the IRS gives back?  Do you think of it as found money and splurge on something?  Or do you see it as money the IRS never should’ve taken in the first place and use it to pay the bills?  Do you stash it away for a rainy day?  Basically, when Uncle Sam shows you the money, what do you do with it?

Friday Night Think Tank: Show Me The Money | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherI’m trying to keep the roof of The House on the Hill over my head on a single income, so I’m probably going to stash that refund check in my checking account and use it as a cushion to ease my financial stress.

I’m not exactly in that one percent Bernie Sanders is always yelling about, and I was raised to be extremely frugal, so that tax refund is going to last a long time.

Don’t get me wrong, Modern Philosophers, it’s not like I don’t know how to spend a little money.  I did go to Walmart yesterday and splurge on a few shirts for work as wellas a new pair of work pants.

I also picked up two items that made Melissa call me in the store and call me a geek.  Maybe I had been texting her photos of my purchases as I put them in the cart, maybe I hadn’t.  We’ll really never know for sure, will we?

Anyway, Mr. Big Spender bought two Star Wars tee shirts.  One was a BB-8shirt, while the other was a Kylo Ren one.

Excuse me, McGirlfriend, but what about that makes me a geek???

They were only $5 each, so I was frugal while spoiling myself.

Truth be told, I’d much rather have financial security than loosen the purse strings and go a little wild.  Plus, by saving this money now, I’ll have more to spend on fun things when Melissa is here in May.

In the end, it’s all about spoiling the woman I love.

What about you, Modern Philosophers?  What are you going to do with that refund?

Did you know you can follow me on Pinterest and not have to spend a single penny of your tax refund to do so?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: Show Me The Money

  1. ksbeth says:

    i always see it and treat it as found money, best of luck on the new ventures )

  2. I always use it for the big expenses that come this time of year, like my property taxes.

  3. Sheila Moss says:

    Refund? What’s that? If by some bookkeeping error (or miracle) I pay in more than is due, I tell them to keep change and take it off my taxes the following year.

  4. drishism says:

    We will get a refund. We will use that refund to help with travel costs to visit family. We live in Oregon. Family is in Ohio and California. We like our family, so it’s not like a double penalty ==(spending money to see people we don’t like).

Leave a Reply

