Monday Morning Coffee Club: 2/22/16

Monday Morning Coffee Club: 2/22/16 | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherI’d like to begin the week by wishing a Happy Birthday to George Washington, Modern Philosophers!

The Father of our Country would’ve been almost 400 years old if still alive today, and even in that state, would make a much better President than Donald Trump.

Don’t even get me started on Trump’s continuing to lead the race for the Republican Presidential nomination.  It’s the kind of thing that would drive a man to drink coffee and look for real estate in Canada, but I don’t want to do either on Washington’s Birthday.

I remember when our first President’s birthday carried a little weight around here.  I’d get the day off from school, and then play outside in my powered wig and try my best not to tell a lie.

Good times.

You want to make this country great again?  Give us back all the days off we’ve lost over the years!  If I were running for President, I’d put that very high up on my platform.

Last week was a busy one at The House on the Hill.  I had a new article published on The Good Men Project, and spent a lot of time promoting it.  When I checked this morning, it had been shared over 1750 times on Facebook since Friday night!

If you would like to read it, and possibly add to that share total, here’s the link:

Austin’s Post on The Good Men Project

My writing highlight of the week came on Wednesday night, though, Modern Philosophers.  We did a taping of The Nite Show, and Congressman Bruce Poliquin was the guest.

I’ve made a lot of fun of the Congressman over the past year with humorous, well-written monologue jokes about the vertical challenges he faces in life.

Monday Morning Coffee Club: 2/22/16 | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherI had no idea, though, that he had asked to come on the show to address all the jokes we’ve told about him, or that he was going to cite two of my jokes as examples of ones that really struck a chord with him.

I made sure to go backstage after the show, introduce myself, fess up to writing the jokes, and apologize for hurting his feelings.

He was great about it, shook my hand, and laughed it all off, which was a relief.  A writer never expects to come face to face with the subject of his humor, so this was uncharted territory for me.  Luckily, I had a huge height advantage over the Congressman, so I felt confident of my chances had it come down to a physical altercation.

Thank you to Nite Show photographer Jennifer Murphy for the above photo of Bruce Poliquin reading my jokes on the air.

Last night, I submitted an original article to another website, so my fingers are crossed that they will accept it.  I’m just trying to spread the word of The Modern Philosopher to a larger audience, while also telling some of the stories that would be a little out of place on this Family Friendly blog.

The intern with the pigtails and glasses is waving at me to wrap this up so I can get ready to go to work.  On George Washington’s Birthday.  What is going on in this country?

There is coffee and birthday cake available in the kitchen, so feel free to stop by, help yourself, and remember George in your own way.

Remember, there’s only 17 more hours until we can make this week great again!

I cannot tell a lie.  George Washington would want you to honor his special day by following me on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Politics, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 2/22/16

  1. donedreaming says:

    Happy Monday Austin! Good luck with the article 🙂

  2. bwcarey says:

    George Washington is still alive and probably reading your post and saying, “those were the days, by the way is that a wig that smirfy looking guy is wearing, whose his wife!”

  3. Hello? Um, I’m here for the cake?
    Oh hey, Austin!
    Loved that you got to meet Congressman Pouliquin. Even better that he was a good sport–no surprise. Your humor is refreshing, fun, and never mean. Love it!
    Happy Monday – I’m off to find that cake 🙂

  4. grannyK says:

    Happy Monday! I am still in denial about Trump. It has to be a bad dream, right? And, crossing my fingers about the article you submitted! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

