Friday Night Think Tank: Writing Under The Influence

Friday Night Think Tank: Writing Under The Influence | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherThank Zeus it’s Friday, Modern Philosophers!

It has been a very trying week for the man in the toga, and I am relieved that I finally have the weekend to recover.

Some weeks are simply harder than others, and this one had a degree of difficulty that would have impressed even that prickly Russian judge.

Today tried my patience and heart in ways that I never again want to experience.  I’ve never felt this helpless, and I am breathing a tremendous sigh of relief that everything turned out well.

Let’s head out to the Think Tank so I can form some Deep Thoughts and clear my head of the memories of the week that was such an annoyance.

Is anyone still with me?  I know I’m all over the place right now, but I’ll eventually find my way again.

This week’s topic: Do you ever allow yourself to write when your emotions are running high on the negative side?  Or do you keep the words bottled up inside until the mood passes and you are back to your happy writing place?

If you follow this blog regularly, you know that I faced this exact predicament last night.  I was in a horrible mood, I couldn’t clear my head of the negativity, and I knew it would be impossible to write the kind of happy, silly, sarcastic, satirical post that would be appropriate for this blog.

However, I find that writing it a good way to deal with my stress, and if I let the angry thoughts loose in a story then there is finally room in my head for happy thoughts.

Friday Night Think Tank: Writing Under The Influence | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherSo even though I was in a dark, grumpy place, I still produced a post that I set free on the interwebs.

I was pleasantly surprised this morning to discover how popular that post was, and reading the comments has really picked up my spirits.

Yes, I did allow myself to simmer down long enough to write something far less destructive than what would have come out had I not paused to cool off.

That means I do my best not to write when my inner Writer Boy has turned completely to the Dark Side and is hell bent on destroying the Rebellion once and for all.

I guess I was all Kylo Ren about it when I finally sat down to release the words from their chambers of secret loathings.  The anger was there, but there was still a glimmer of the Light Side getting through to keep me from fully raging against the machine.

A younger, wilder version of me would’ve put the anger down on paper, shared it with the world, and then deeply regretted it once it was far too late.

Maybe I shouldn’t write when an emotional tsunami runs through it, but we all know that stories are a tastier treat when topped with a dollop of darkness and chaos.

Rather than wasting time asking “Who let the thoughts out?”, I just make sure they are on a very long leash so I can reel them in anytime it looks like they might bite the neighbors.

What about you, Modern Philosophers?

Sometime I follow my emotions when I write.  How about you follow me on Pinterest?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday Night Think Tank: Writing Under The Influence

  1. You know me … Lol, I write e good the bad and the ugly. But that’s my site.

  2. *the* even. My fingers don’t do well on my iPad.

  3. grannyK says:

    Yes, I think you should write even if you are having negative thoughts! Just try to make sure it is nothing you will regret in the morning.

  4. floridaborne says:

    Do you ever allow yourself to write when your emotions are running high on the negative side? YES. The name of my blog is Two on a Rant. 🙂

    Or do you keep the words bottled up inside until the mood passes and you are back to your happy writing place? NO. Writing is therapy, and I find that therapy is not only good for me, but it helps other people feel like we’re not so alone after all.

Leave a Reply

