Monday Morning Coffee Club: Leap Day 2016

Monday Morning Coffee Club: Leap Day 2016 | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherHappy Leap Day, Modern Philosophers!

Of course, it stands to reason that when they add an extra day to the calendar, it’s a Monday.  Why didn’t anyone think this out and add an extra Saturday or Sunday?

The Oscars were last night, and for the first time that I can recall, I went to bed well before the show was done.  I gave up an hour in when Mad Max: Fury Road, which was apparently a look at America’s future under President Trump, won three Oscars in a row for creating a freaky, dystopian future world.

Does that mean Donald Trump is going to win Oscars for the frightening version of America that he is going to create during his time in the White House?  The last thing that guy needs is another award to stroke his ego.

I just didn’t care about The Academy Awards this year, which is very strange for me.  I keep saying that I was upset about Star Wars: The Force Awakens not being nominated, but I wonder if there is a deeper, darker reason for my disinterest.

Have I finally given up on my dream of being a full time screenwriter?  Have I become so fed up with the Hollywood system that I no longer want to watch the film business’ biggest night and fantasize about what it would be like to win an Oscar of my own?  Have I finally accepted that an Oscar will never grace the mantel at The House on the Hill?

Monday Morning Coffee Club: Leap Day 2016 | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherI’d rather blame it on a lack of nominations for The Force Awakens because that means I haven’t allowed the flames to die out on my dream.

Plus, if Daisy Ridley hears about how steadfast I’ve remained in my protest over her not being nominated, there’s still a chance she will show up at The House on the Hill to thank me in person.

The Force is strong with this one, Modern Philosophers.

I did look at the list of Oscar winners this morning, and I realized I hadn’t seen any of the movies that won.

Maybe I need to go to the movies more often.

Or maybe Hollywood needs to nominate more of the movies that I watch.

I wonder which side is going to blink first.  It should be an epic battle.

Tomorrow is Super Tuesday.  I don’t know which teams are playing, but I’m going to root for the team that’s most ethnically diverse.  Because that’s what the world seems to care about right now, and I want to be a team player.

Besides, I only watch Super Tuesday for the commercials if the Jets aren’t playing.

The interns are making faces at me, which means that either they don’t appreciate my joking about the fact that Trump can essentially wrap up the Republican nomination tomorrow, or it’s time for me to end this post and get ready for work.

There’s plenty of coffee and leftover Oscar snacks in the kitchen, Modern Philosophers, so please enjoy.  Have a great Leap Day, and remember that there are only 17 hours left to this horrible, extra Monday…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: Leap Day 2016

  1. Damon says:

    Is it a bad thing that I care not to watch any of these “Award” shows? I don’t know but somehow I feel I didn’t miss out on much… Good day to all 🙂

Leave a Reply

