Monday Morning Coffee Club: 3/7/16

It's the first Monday of March. While I hate Mondays, it does mean we are one step closer to Spring!Say what you will about March and its inherent madness, Modern Philosophers, but at least the month knows how to take its time with forcing a Monday on us.

The first Monday of March is finally here, and the best thing I can say about it is that it brings us one day closer to Spring.

It’s supposed to be warmer this week, Modern Philosophers, and we spring ahead the clocks on Sunday, so can Snow Miser’s exit be far behind?

It was a big political weekend in Maine.

The Republican Presidential Caucus was held on Saturday, and the Democrats held their little party yesterday.  Why Maine doesn’t hold a Presidential Primary is beyond me, but I did see a few articles about a move in that direction for 2020.

A record turnout was reported for the Democrats.  Apparently, after another frigid Winter under the iron fist of Snow Miser, Mainers were dying to Feel the Bern!

Bernie Sanders took the state in a landslide, and I’m hoping the momentum from his huge victory in Maine will now propel him ahead of Hillary and into the nomination.

On the Republican side, the result was Trump did not win!  I’m pretty sure Ted Cruz received the most votes, but the only result I care about is that my fellow Mainers did not hand over the state to a madman.  Well, to the worst of all the madmen.

Insane in the Maine brain. Hey, life in Maine might be crazy, but at least we're not crazy enough to vote for Trump in the Republican Caucus!Maine is kinda crazy, but at least it’s not the Trump kinda crazy!  I think that’s going to be the new state motto, replacing the current, “Maine: Stephen King lives here”.

It’s nice to know that my fellow Mainers can vote the way I’d prefer, and I’m happy to call this place home.

Until I have to move to Canada after Trump wins on Election Day…

Looking ahead at my week, the big news might be that Girl Scout Cookies get delivered this week.

Yes, in a moment of extreme weakness a few months ago, I ordered three pallets of that tasty, expensive goodness.  Now I have to find space in The House on the Hill’s basement bunker to store all those boxes.

Three pallets should be enough to last me until June.  Then I’ll have to find another youth organization to sell me some sweets.

I’m also looking forward to dinner tomorrow night with a friend I haven’t seen in far too long.  It will be nice to break out of my highly organized weekday rut and actually leave the house to do something social.

Last week was a good one on the writing front.  I had another article published on The Good Men Project, as well as my first one published on Katie Paul’s Head * Heart* Health site.  GMP also informed me last night that they are going to publish the new article I submitted yesterday.  Woo hoo!

That’s enough excitement for a Monday morning.  Hope you all have a great day.  Help yourself to coffee and leftover Caucus Cookies, which I baked in the shape of elephants and donkeys.  They are not to scale, though, so don’t be disappointed.

Remember, only 17 hours left to this miserable day!

Need a distraction on another Manic Monday?  Follow me on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 3/7/16

  1. Chris Amedy says:

    Congrats on the articles being published! I’m trying to get a few publish myself, still waiting for word on that front.

Leave a Reply

