That Time They Made A Movie About My Life

Did I ever tell you about the time I had my heart broken, wrote a screenplay about the break up, sold the script, and it got made into a feature film? Long before I welcomed any of you into The House on the Hill, Modern Philosophers, I was involved in a relationship that ended badly.

It was the first serious one after my divorce, so at the time, it seemed even more devastating than the end of my marriage because I was not at all ready to have my heart crushed again.

That break up turned out to be one of the best things that’s ever happened to me, though.

It led to my writing The Retirement Party, the screenplay that would go on to change my life.

In the above image, there are two photos of Desmond Phillips, the actor who portrayed me in the feature film that was made from the screenplay.  My friends complained that he was too good looking to be playing me.  I told my friends that if they had an issue with the casting, they should write their own screenplays about their lives and then get someone even more handsome than Desmond to play them!

I finally decided it was time to write an article about why I wrote the screenplay, how it failed to serve its original purpose, but how it went on to change my life in so many incredible ways.

The article was too long, too personal, and a little too naughty to run on this blog, so I gave it to my friends over at The Good Men Project.

I was hoping that you would click on the link below and give it a read.  Do you think if you enjoy it, you could share it on social media for me?  I’d love to get this article out to as many people as possible.

Austin’s Retirement Party Post on The Good Men Project

That Time They Made A Movie About My Life | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherIt really is an uplifting story that proves that not every break up has to be horrible.  Sure, my heart was broken at the time, but so many good things have happened to me because I decided to write a screenplay about it.

It also proves that you don’t have to be at all famous to have your life turned into a feature film.  Of course, it helps if you’re a decent writer, and you can figure out a way to turn your sadness into something amusing.

Just remember to get highly creative like I did and change the name of the main character in your screenplay so that no one knows it’s you if the movie tanks.

In The Retirement Party, the protagonist is named Justin.

I even had them add The Retirement Party trailer to the article, so if you’ve never seen it, now would be the perfect opportunity.

Thank you for taking the time to read my latest offering on The Good Men Project.  If you’re looking for someone to write a screenplay about you life, drop me a line in the comments section!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Dating, Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That Time They Made A Movie About My Life

  1. livingincyn says:

    My life is too dull for the Silver Screen, but your comments section–now that’s a place where a sister can shine! Here’s wishing you an excellent week, Austin.

Leave a Reply

