Monday Morning Coffee Club: 3/14/16

Monday Morning Coffee Club: 3/14/16 | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherHappy Monday, Modern Philosophers!  How are you loving your Daylight Savings Time?

Yes, we sprung ahead over the weekend.  As always, I was totally confused when it was suddenly still light out at dinner, but dark when I woke up this morning.

Thankfully, they do the time change over the weekend to allow our bodies and minds some time to adjust.

Of course, my major challenge this morning will be figuring out how to adjust the clock in my car.

It’s not a simple system, and I always get frustrated and end up driving around for days with a random time glaring at me from the dashboard.

Maybe this is the year I finally figure it out.  Fingers crossed, Modern Philosophers!

Is it just me, or does Daylight Savings sound like a fly by night bank that rose up out of the ashes of the last financial crisis?

I’ve had a rough week with some personal issues that have triggered the return of my childhood bully, The Panic Attacks.  They are not at all fun, and every time I think I’ve got a handle on them, they sneak up on me again.

I tried to exorcise those demons with my writing.  I wrote a post on Thursday about what happens when the blogger breaks, and a short story on Saturday about a drowning man.

While it helped to get my thoughts down on paper and send them off into the interwebs, doing so has not solved my problems.

The Drowning Man | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherI did, however, really enjoy writing https://moviewriternyu.wordpress.com/2016/03/12/the-drowning-man/ and creating the images that went with the story.  That’s one of them on the left.

It was also a big writing weekend in that I had a new article published on The Good Men Project.

This one was about the time I had my heart broken, wrote a screenplay about the break up, sold the script, and it got made into a feature film.

It’s a fun story, and I hope you’ll read it.

Here’s the link that that article…

Austin’s new article on The Good Men Project

This should be a fun week.  St. Patrick’s Day is on Thursday, and I’m very partial to all things Irish these days.  Plus, there’s a taping of The Nite Show on Wednesday.

Hopefully, I can enjoy both events without the panic attacks tagging along.

Well, the intern with the long black hair and nose ring is insisting that I end this post so I can get ready for work.  The interns are always so eager to get me out of the house, that it seriously makes me wonder what they do here all day.

Can someone please stop by The House on the Hill for coffee today and report back to me on what these college kids are doing while I’m chained to my desk at work?  That would certainly put my mind at ease.

Enjoy the rest of the day.  Only seventeen hours until it’s no loner Monday!

Need help dealing with another Monday?  Follow me on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

