Cheer, Cheer For St. Paddy’s Day

MyIrish heritage is extremely important to me, and a loveof Fighting Irish football was a special bond I shared with my Dad.  Happy Paddy's Day!Happy St. Patrick’s Day, Modern Philosophers!  Or Happy Paddy’s Day, as Melissa insists on calling it.

I had expected today to be happiest Paddy’s Day in the celebrated history of The House on the Hill, but life has a way of blindsiding me.

When beautiful Irish eyes are smiling on me, I am the happiest, luckiest man on the planet.  When those same Irish eyes shed tears, however, the dark clouds rain on my St. Patrick’s Day parade.

While I might not be having the holiday I expected, I still want to spread some Irish cheer to my beloved readers.

I’ve written a very personal essay about what it meant to grow up Irish in Brooklyn, and the special bond my Dad and I shared because of our love of Notre Dame Fighting Irish Football.

This article is running today on The Good Men Project, and I hope you will take some time out from your Paddy’s Day shenanigans to give it a read.  As always, I would greatly appreciate it if you would share the post on social media.

Here’s the link…

When Fighting Irish Eyes Are Smiling

Cheer Cheer For St. Paddy's Day | The Return ofthe Modern PhilosopherMy Dad was an amazing man, who I miss very much, and I hope this essay does his memory proud.  If he were alive today, I’m sure he’d be telling me to shake off the sadness and fight for what makes me incredibly happy.

As the Notre Dame Fight Song says, “Whether the odds be great or small, old Notre Dame will win over all.  While her loyal sons go marching, onward to victory!”.

On this Paddy’s Day, the loyal son of Big Austin vows to do his best to stir up the echoes and march on to the victory he so badly desires…

I wish you all a Happy St. Patrick’s Day, and hope that the Luck of the Irish will smile upon you all the days of the year.

And if want to smile while reading my latest essay on The Good Men Project, then cheers to you as well!

St. Paddy himself will smile upon you if you follow me on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Love, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cheer, Cheer For St. Paddy’s Day

  1. Sweet story, Austin. Yes, football can be a bonding experience for father and son, as well as mother and son (I’ve watched some great games with my ‘little’ boy, now over 30). May your Irish lass’ eyes always twinkle back at you.
    (I tried to respond on the Good Man Project site – but too many ads on there made it too difficult to stay on the site without ads popping up constantly.)

    • Austin says:

      Thanks. I know that site can be hard for posting comments. But you can always come over here to share your Deep Thoughts. No ads on this blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

