Why Did They Give Me My Own Column?

The wonderful people at The Good Men Project have given me a weekly column! Now my Deep Thoughts on life, love, politics, and philosophy can infect a much wider audience! I hope they don't mind if I ramble on about Star Wars, zombies, and time travel too much...It looks this whole writing for other websites thing is really starting to pay off, Modern Philosophers.

Either the wonderful folks over at The Good Men Project are desperate for new material, or my twisted take on life fills some sort of quirky need for a site that gets two to three million hits a month.

Regardless of the rationale behind the decision, I’m proud to announce that I’ve been given a weekly column over at The Good Men Project!

That’s your cue, interns, to set off the confetti cannons!

I’m really excited about this opportunity, Modern Philosophers.  While I have a nice sized following on this blog, this will give me the chance to spread my Deep Thoughts to a whole new audience.

One of my previous articles on GMP received almost two thousand shares on social media just over the first weekend it was on the site!

The whole point of starting this blog was to get my writing out there in hopes of being discovered by a producer or publisher.  I’d say that having a weekly column on such a wildly popular site will exponentially increase my chances of landing that dream writing gig I’ve been chasing since graduating from NYU Film School.

My editor has told me I can basically post whatever I want on my column.  Some weeks, I’ll write an original article.  Other weeks, I might reprint something that ran on here.

A third option, which I went with for my first column, is to expand on a post from this blog and give it a new spin and deeper perspective.

As you know, one of my favorite generators of Deep Thoughts is Donald Trump.  My initial column on GMP combines a couple of previous Trump posts with new material.  I think you’re really going to enjoy the end product.  Will you click on the link and check it out?

Austin’s First Weekly Column on The Good Men Project

Why Did They Give Me My Own Column? | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherI try to keep things light and at about 500 words here.  For The Good Men Project, I like to let the Deep Thoughts flow at around 1200 – 1500 words.  I can get a little darker and more serious over there, while rattling a few more cages.

Don’t worry, though, Modern Philosophers, because Maine’s Otherworldly Beings are not going to make the journey over the GMP.  Gary the Gargoyle, Seamus, The Witches, The Werewolves, Ana the Vampire, Mayor McCheese, Zeus, Snow Miser and the rest of the crew are exclusively yours.

If there’s a post on this blog that you really enjoyed and would like to see me expand and explore further on The Good Men Project, please let me know.  I’m here to amuse, entertain, and get those Deep Thoughts flowing.

The column should run every Friday.  It would mean a lot to me if you would check it out every week and let me know what you think.  There’s a comments section open to all Modern Philosophers.

As always, I’d be eternally grateful if you could share my column if it puts a smile on your face or some Deep Thoughts in your head.

Thank you, Modern Philosophers for giving me the confidence to take my silly stories to a larger audience.  You guys make me proud to wear this toga!

Remember, you can also follow me on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Politics, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Why Did They Give Me My Own Column?

  1. tildy1 says:

    Wow! Congratulations! I am really happy for you!

  2. D. Parker says:

    Congrats, Austin, I’m so happy for you! Can’t wait to read your column. 🙂

  3. Sheila Moss says:

    Congratulations and a Snapple toast to success.

  4. pamtanzey says:

    How cool is that!! Congratulations!

  5. *sets off confetti canons*
    Congratulations! That’s fantastic 🙂

  6. grannyK says:

    Congrats! Very good news!

  7. ksbeth says:

    that’s great news, austin!

  8. Yaaaay hooey!! 😀 Have a great time, and may you find many more admirers and worthy conversants! 😀

Leave a Reply

