Monday Morning Coffee Club: 3/21/16

Monday Morning Coffee Club | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherHappy First full day of Spring, Modern Philosophers!

We are celebrating this magical day in Maine by having a blizzard.  You heard me correctly, the snow is coming down quite heavily right now and is expected to continue all day.

Ah, how I love Spring!

So, I guess I will have to ditch the flowery Spring toga I planned to wear to work today, and pull one of my heavy snow togas out of storage.

Seriously, though, wht does Snow Miser get to ignore the calendar?  His time with us should have ended yesterday!  It’s not at all fair that he gets to thumb up his icy nose at us one last time.

At least I hope it’s the last time.  It is Spring after all.

It was a busy week at The House on the Hill.  I had two articles published on The Good Men Project.  One was a special Paddy’s Day post about my Dad, and how we bonded over our love of the Fighting Irish of Notre Dame.

Fittingly, I was on the phone yesterday afternoon with my older sister when Notre Dame pulled off a miracle comeback in the second round of March Madness.  A tip in with 1.5 seconds left, most likely aided by the Luck of the Irish, allowed the Fighting Irish to go marching onward to victory!

I’m sure my Dad is smiling up in Heaven over that miracle.

The wonderful people at The Good Men Project have given me a weekly column! Now my Deep Thoughts on life, love, politics, and philosophy can infect a much wider audience! I hope they don't mind if I ramble on about Star Wars, zombies, and time travel too much...The other article posted on GMP was the first for my new weekly column on the site.  How cool is that?  My own column!  I’m very excited, as you can tell from my use of the exclamation point (grammar is our friend!) and I look forward to amusing a whole new audience every Friday for a long time.

I hope you will want to check out my column every week, Modern Philosophers.  That would mean a lot to me!

One of the interns is telling me that I need to wrap up this post because the road conditions are quickly worsening and I will need to leave early for work.

I can’t tell which intern it is because she is bundled up and covered in snow, and I never learn their names anyway.

So I guess it’s time to prepare to face the first full day of Spring with a snow shovel, boots, and a pathological fear of driving in snow.  What could be more fun?

There’s plenty of coffee, so please help yourselves.  If anyone feels like shoveling the snow out of the driveway, that would be awesome.

Remember, there’s only 17 hours left of this day.  Just hang in there and hope the snow melts quickly so the Spring flowers can finally make an appearance!

Once you’re done shoveling snow, you should follow me on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 3/21/16

  1. Sheila Moss says:

    Winter’s last fling. What did you expect when you moved to Maine, for God’s sake? Go south, old man, go south.

  2. Sheila Moss says:

    Sorry, glad you are okay.

Leave a Reply

