He Is Risen…From The Couch

I celebrated Easter by resurrecting my running program and putting in 3 miles on the road.  Happy Easter!Happy Easter, Modern Philosophers!

In an attempt to resurrect my health, I have brought back my fitness program from the dead.  As usual, I allowed myself to hibernate all winter, and while I was tucked away in peaceful slumber, the Fat Elves crept into my chamber and packed on the pounds.

How rude!

I was afraid that the damage was pretty severe as I was not feeling at all good about myself, but when I finally got on the scale last Saturday, I didn’t freak out.

Even though I felt much heavier, I was only two pounds above where I’d been in July when I began my intense, five days a week, running program.  While I was deeply disappointed that I’d put back on all the weight I’d lost, I was at least relieved to learn that I hadn’t shot up into a whole new tax bracket of obesity.

Last weekend, I began the slow march back to better health.  This week, I increased the pace a little.  I got up early on Wednesday morning to get in a three mile run before work.  That was my first early morning run since December, and my body reacted much like I expected it would.

I did not break any records, but I also didn’t break any bones.  I managed to get in the three miles without having to stop, and I took almost a minute off of my time from Saturday’s run.

I’ve also made some changes to my diet.  I’ve cut back on the sweets, spent time in the fruit aisle at the grocery store for the first time in ages, and brought in a salad a couple of days for a snack at work.

Easter Porridge: The breakfast of those who would some day like to be champions, but are currently out of shape slackers.In addition, I am now beginning my mornings with a big bowl of porridge.  Yes, I was raised in Victorian England, so that’s why I refer to oatmeal by a name more likely to be used by a starving, orphaned waif in a Dickens novel.

I’ve found some ways to make this breakfast a bit more tasty, and this morning I think I really hit on the best recipe of all.  I made it with chocolate milk, and added frozen blueberries and a bit of peanut butter.

It really was quite delicious, and now I won’t mind eating it for breakfast all week.

Yesterday, I returned to the gym for the second time in a week, after more than a year away from the place.  Again, there was no fanfare upon my arrival, but I didn’t allow that to get me out of my Sweat Zone (patent pending).

I hit the bike and put in 11 miles in 45:00.  Last week, I did 9 miles in 40:00.  Already, my body is showing signs of life.  Yes, I pushed myself harder than I did last week, but it was not a problem.  I felt good, made the choice to go harder and faster on my own, and I swear I was not at all influenced by The Machine and its annoying flashing numbers mocking me to be more of a man!

This morning, it was back into my running toga, for a three mile Easter tour of my usual running route.  I was the only one out on the road, but I figured everyone else was home investigating what had been left behind by the Easter Bunny.

My legs were heavy from yesterday’s bike time, but my lungs felt so much better than they had on my first run last weekend.

I breezed back to The House on the Hill 25 seconds faster than I had on Wednesday, and realized that the Easter Bunny had left me several gallons of sweat hidden in my running toga.  While it’s not chocolate and jelly beans, it was still much appreciated.

He Is Risen...From The Couch | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherAfter doing some sit ups and having a little fun with the bench press, I stepped on the magic scale and asked it if I were the fairest one of all.  Fairest, not fattest!

The scale told me I’d lost 2.6 pounds since last Saturday.  My BMI had not risen!  Praise the Lord, it was an Easter miracle!

I’ve still got a long way to go, Modern Philosophers, but I am a creature of habit.  Once I get comfortable in a workout schedule, I’m likely to stick to it.

Adding the biking day at the gym is also a great way to keep me from getting bored with running, and from preventing my body from plateauing too soon from the same old cardio workout.

In addition, I am taking a serious look at my diet.  This week, my rye bread has been replaced by whole wheat pitas, I’ve bought low fat yogurts for my work day snack, and I plan to make salads every day.

I’m feeling positive about myself, Modern Philosophers, and that is a very good sign of things to come.

I hope you all have a wonderful Easter!

Have you already eaten everything in your Easter Basket and now find yourself totally bored on Easter Sunday?  Follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Holidays, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to He Is Risen…From The Couch

  1. Gail says:

    I love your posts about fitness and health the best. I enjoy your wry sense of humor.

  2. Those fat elves… they do so much damage! Good on you for the path your have chosen!

  3. The Cutter says:

    Good job on the weight loss. I had been shedding some pounds, but then out came the Easter candy. I told my wife, “as soon as that bag of M&Ms is opened, it’s essentially gone.”

Leave a Reply

