Monday Morning Coffee Club: 3/28/16

Monday Morning Coffee Club: 3/28/16It’s Monday, Modern Philosophers.

I was going to submit that as my blog post, but the interns insist that a blog post must be longer than four words.

What do they know?  They’re just interns, right?

Does a blog post have minimum length requirements?  That I don’t know.  I’m going to send the intern with the crew cut and neck tattoo over to the Library of Blogs to research that one and get me a solid answer.

In the meantime, look at that.  I’ve already strung together several paragraphs when I clearly have nothing to say.

Could it be that I’m suffering from that usual Easter Monday malaise?  It’s not like I devoured a basket of Easter candy.  Quite the contrary actually.  The Easter Bunny somehow managed to skip The House on the Hill.

I guess his GPS is busted or something.

Regardless, I’ve woken up under the weather.  How the weather got over me is unclear.  It’s not like I’m a meteorologist or something.  All I know is that when I opened my eyes well before my alarm went off this morning, the weather was right there, dangling above me, snickering and snarling at me.

Needless to say, that is not how I wanted to begin my week.  I’m not the kind of person to call out or call in to work sick (the debate rages as to whether it’s “out” or “in”), but I’m not sure I’m feeling well enough to tackle a day at my desk.

So sick.  On a Monday.  Ugh. Another reasons to hate Mondays.Unless, of course, they’re willing to keep a medical expert parked next to my desk, and that expert is going to drive me back and forth to The House on the Hill because I don’t think sitting upright in the driver’s seat is something I can handle right now.

I’m not a big fan of Monday, in fact, there was a time, not too long ago, when I actually sent Monday hate mail.  I signed the interns’ names to the letters so it could never be traced back to me.

Then again, I don’t know the interns’ names, so signing the letters “Long Hair and Annoying Voice” might have aroused some suspicion.  Hmmmm.  I might want to rethink that strategy for future Monday hate mail.

I’m going off on a tangent.  The point I was trying to make is that I’m no fan of Monday and being sick on a Monday only makes me dislike the day more.

Miserable Monday.  That’s how I’m going to remember this day.  Hope it’s much more memorable for you, Modern Philosophers.

As always, there’s coffee, but you might want to pass on it this week in case The House on the Hill is riddled with my germs.  Have a good Monday.  Only seventeen hours left…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 3/28/16

  1. grannyK says:

    So sorry you are ill! I hope you feel better as the day progresses.

  2. Mary B says:

    Hope you feel better soon! Get one of your minions, er interns, to fetch you some chicken noodle soup. (just be sure they don’t spit in it!)

    Mary
    Twitter: @KnottyMarie
    Jingle Jangle Jungle

  3. Pamela says:

    I hate Monday . Feel better Austin !

  4. susielindau says:

    Drink some green tea and take a nap when no one’s looking.

  5. Hate to remind you that Monday will come round again in 6 days. 😜 Happy Monday! 😆 Feel better soon.

  6. Austin, get yourself some chicken soup and feel better.
    Shine On

  7. The Cutter says:

    It hasn’t been so bad. There was a lot less traffic on the road this morning.

  8. I feel you on this one, dude. I acquired the flu, so I’m trapped at home on a Monday.

  9. rowanaliya says:

    I have to say, for once, I was very excited for yesterday to come. Did you see the article that came out about me in the Huffington Post?!!!! I still can’t believe it and there is so much more on the way!!! EEEKKKKK! (If you haven’t seen it: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/rowan-metzner-in-my-mothers-clothes_us_56f58ee0e4b014d3fe231708?utm_hp_ref=arts)

Leave a Reply

