A Throwback To Healthier Times

A Throwback Thursday tribute to a few years ago when I'd lost 50 lbs and was looking and feeling great!Someone very near and dear to me, Modern Philosophers, recently commented on that photo of me on the left.

Seems she was creeping through my Facebook page and came across the pic, which was taken a little less than four years ago.

I’d lost 50 lbs at that point, and was feeling very good about myself.  I was running, going to the gym, lifting weights, eating healthy, and enjoying life.

My anonymous friend was a big fan of the photo, and I was obviously flattered.

I was also disappointed, though, because the pic reminded me that I’d let all that hard work go to waste.  It took a great deal of time, effort, sweat, and self control to shed so much weight, and I can’t believe I’ve put it all back on again.

How stupid can someone so smart be, Modern Philosophers?

Rather than beat myself up about my “personal growth”, I’ve made it my goal to get back to that weight again.

This is week three of my new focus on wellness, and I was up at the crack of dawn to get in a three mile run, do some sit ups, and lift weights before work.

I’ve been eating so much better, making better use of my time, and I already feel my confidence growing as my waistline slowly shrinks.

The ham and his burgers. A healthier, happier Modern PhilosopherI know it’s going to be a long battle to get back to that healthier version of me, but it’s a fight I’m willing to take on at this point in my life.  I’m not getting any younger, despite all my experiments, but it’s still possible for me to feel younger by whipping my lazy butt into shape.

Sure, my days are longer because I have to wake up so early to get in a run before work, but I am accomplishing so much more.

The thing is, I’m not just looking to get my body into shape.  My mood needs to improve, I need a rosier outlook, and I simply need to lighten up a little.  I take everything far too seriously, and I need to enjoy life a hell of a lot more.

In every properly written screenplay, there is an instigating event that sets the story in motion and propels the plot forward.  A few weeks ago, that event happened in my life, and everything has changed.

My commitment to a better me is stronger than it’s ever been, I’m feeling positive, and the dark clouds have been exiled so I can spend my days dancing in the sun.

I'm really looking forward to turning my frown, and my life, upside down!A healthier Austin isn’t just skinnier.  He’s happier, relaxed, and not feeling sorry for himself.  I’m having a blast heading down this path to the new me.

I’ve turned my frown, and my life, upside down and I am loving the results.

Sure, I wouldn’t mind being the guy depicted in any of these photos again, but I’m more looking forward to being a version of me no one has ever met yet.

Hope you don’t mind being dragged along on this journey, Modern Philosophers!

Being positive is contagious.  I’m positive you’ll follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Throwback To Healthier Times

  1. Best of luck. I am on day 5 of walking for 40 minutes. I have only noticed that my feet don’t hurt when they touch the floor in the morning. I had a rough (eat crap) night so I hope tomorrow finds my feet still pain free.

  2. Best wishes to you, Austin! It’s so discouraging when we realize we have not sustained our better behaviors. But the good news is that the more times we try, the better we get! So never give up! You have such a great insight about the weight– it’s definitely not the whole picture, just the most readily visible part. Even if the scale says nothing different in a few months, you will feel better–physically and about yourself–just for having taken charge of your behaviors and making positive change! Woooo hooooo! 😄 Keep it up! 😊

  3. Austin…I feel ya, bro. While I am a short, skinny guy, some people in my life have faced the same challenges that you face, weight wise. If you need encouragement or even a good “bitchin’ out”, I’ll be here for you, amigo. If you have the discipline to write a screenplay, then you certainly have the discipline to get healthy. Do it, dammit. I just went through a very similar experience with my former wife who was very unhealthy, so I have, as an observer/encourager been there. There were times when I thought to myself, “Will I be a widower in the morning?” She has lost 150 pounds and is healtheir and more confident than ever. You can (and obviously) have done it before, so do it again! I’ll give you my phone number if you’d ever like to talk (privately, of course…I may be a Dumbass but I ain’t stoopid). My email is realdumbassnews AT gmail DOT com. Use it, man, if you need to.

  4. Mary B says:

    I always loved playing with a yo-yo when I was younger, I just didn’t realize that it would transform the game into my own weight battle. Best of luck to you in your journey.

    Mary
    Twitter: @KnottyMarie
    Literary Gold
    Jingle Jangle Jungle

  5. Austin, here’s a link of a fellow blogger that I follow that always has inspirational words and stories to help keep you happy and healthy. https://goodtimestories.wordpress.com/2016/03/31/are-you-sad-here-are-some-ways-to-instantly-make-you-feel-good/

    • Austin says:

      I’ll check it out. I don’t want people to think I’m not happy and healthy. I’m just working on being happier and healthier. 🙂

  6. The Cutter says:

    Yay! More positive thoughts!

  7. stomperdad says:

    I hear the word diet and I have no doubt as to why diets never work. Diets are temporary. What needs to happen for health is a lifestyle change. Once you go back to old ways, the old (bad) health returns. Good to hear you taking on the challenge of not just getting healthy, but staying healthy!

  8. donedreaming says:

    Inspiring Austin! So pleased your world is getting sunnier (even if the weather isn’t!) 😀

Leave a Reply

