April Showers Are Sweaty Showers

I've been taking more sweaty showers lately since I've made a new commitment to running and going to the gym.  I'm feeling healthier, losing weight, and regaining my confidence...April showers might bring May flowers to the rest of the world, Modern Philosophers, but at The House on the Hill, April showers are sweaty.

What I’m talking about, of course, are the showers I’ve been taking after my workouts.  These sweaty showers have been numerous lately because I’m not only back into a regular running routine, but I’m also going to the gym.

It’s a Spring Miracle!

This morning, I went for my third run of the week.  I’ve been adding a little bit of distance each time I hit the road, while still managing to better my time.

Today, I didn’t really hit my stride until I was almost two miles in, but once that magic feeling kicked in, I picked up the pace and hustled home.

There is one last uphill stretch about a quarter mile from The House on the Hill, which I call Heartbreak Hill because it makes me want to cry and quit my run.  On this day, though, I charged up it like Teddy Roosevelt leading the Rough Riders up San Juan Hill.

I’m not sure what came over me, but it probably had something to do with the fact that I knew I wouldn’t beat my best time if I sputtered up the hill per usual.

Or because three weeks into this new fitness program, my lungs and legs are finally responding to the challenges of the road like they should.

So I just took it.  Long strides.  Steady breathing.  Sweat flying.

It felt good to conquer Heartbreak Hill and plant my imaginary flag.

And since I don’t want to lose your trust, Modern Philosophers, I should confess that I don’t really call that incline “Heartbreak Hill”.  It just sounded perfect for this post.  Will you forgive me?

Tomorrow, I’ll return to the gym for a session on the bike.  Mixing it up a little, and not relying solely on running for my cardio, has added a little excitement to what usually quickly becomes a tedious process.

If you stay positive, you will feel positive, and positive things will happen! | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherAfter my run, I went on a little shopping spree.  Because I’ve rededicated myself to wellness, I picked up some new running shirts, shorts, and socks.

It was so nice to find running socks in size Gigantic Monkey Boy Feet.  That’s always so rare.

I also bought several items to help make The House on the Hill feel more like a home.  I’m really trying to make changes that help me focus on being positive.

I did an impromptu cleaning of my closet, and packed a giant bag of clothes to donate to the homeless shelter.

If you stay positive, you will feel positive, and positive things will happen.

I remind myself of that several times a day now, and I can honestly say that my life has been better for it.

I hope you’re all having a great weekend!  Spring is here, and it is so nice to be able to go outside again and feel the sun on my skin.

Even if that skin is glistening with sweat…

Follow me on Pinterest.  I’m positive you won’t regret it!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to April Showers Are Sweaty Showers

  1. Awesome!! Feels great, doesn’t it–out with the old, in with the new! Renewal can take so many forms, and it’s all good! Run and bike and write on, sir! 👊👏😁

  2. D. Parker says:

    I’m positive I enjoyed your post, Austin. Keep thinking good thoughts and doing good deeds…and yes, showers are good too.
    Shared on Pinterest, but I’ll have to tweet this later, I’m locked out of my account right now, it’s happened before, they hate us Canadians, especially on World Autism Awareness Day. I’m positive they’ll fix it soon. 😉

  3. Mary B says:

    This too shall pass!
    Just kidding. I am cheering you on from the West Coast. You deserve this. Unless it ruins your writing and humor abilities, then all bets are off.

    Mary
    Twitter: @KnottyMarie
    Literary Gold
    Jingle Jangle Jungle

  4. ksbeth says:

    i love all the positive actions in your post, austin. you are on your way )

Leave a Reply

