There’s No 12 Step Program For A Maine Winter

I wrote a guest post for Shareen over at On The Verge. Fittingly, it’s running today when it looks like snow. Snow on Opening Day? Gotta love life in Maine!

Open Thought Vortex

The calendars might say that spring has arrived where you live, but the seasons follow an entirely different schedule in Maine.

A typical Maine winter begins in October and ends in March. While the rest of the world is dreaming of a White Christmas, Mainers dream of not having to dig out, yet again, from under a White Halloween, a White St. Patrick’s Day, and a White Easter.

A few years ago, I lost control of my car during a blizzard on April 1, and ended up in a ditch at the side of the road. This led to an almost paralyzing fear of driving in snow, and also caused me to really dislike April Fool’s Day.

Winters have been so harsh in my neck of the woods, that I’ve self-diagnosed myself with Post Traumatic Snow Disorder. My form of PTSD might not yet be officially recognized by medical professionals…

View original post 1,137 more words

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There’s No 12 Step Program For A Maine Winter

  1. Lutheranliar says:

    Snowed here too (in Amagansett, NY). Lost power, winds up to 65 mph. It’s all my fault, because I put the down comforter (and all my winter coats) into storage. Sorry!

  2. Glenda says:

    Ok. Now I get it. Sounds like misery. I love when we get snow here, because, at the most, you’ll get maybe a foot of the wet, soggy stuff, and then, when you’re getting a little annoyed by the inconvenience of it all, away it goes…

Leave a Reply

