Monday Morning Coffee Club: 4/4/16

Monday Morning Coffee Club: Opening Day 2016Happy Opening Day, Modern Philosophers!

Sure, yesterday was technically Opening Day since some baseball games were played, but the Yankees do not start the season until today.

That makes today Opening Day, as everything revolves around my beloved Bronx Bombers!

Unfortunately, I have to work, but the DVR is set up to record the game.  Modern technology will almost allow me to feel like I’m in Yankee Stadium for the first pitch without ever having to leave Maine.

It is perfect weather for Opening Day here in Maine: 15 degrees and frigid!

The arrival of baseball season is supposed to mean the departure of Snow Miser from these parts, but he is clearly a Red Sox fan, which makes him not too bright.  He’s probably holed up in an ice fishing shack somewhere, finishing the last of his beer, and cursing the Yankees at the top of his lungs.

No worries, though.  Spring will be in full bloom soon enough.  In the meantime, I will just root, root, root for the Yankees and that will keep me warm.

Ironically, as I bundle up to face the Opening Day weather, a new article I wrote about recovering from a Maine Winter is being feature over at On The Verge.  When I wrote the post last month, I assumed it would be published on a sunny Spring day when I’d already be up on the roof working on my tan with Gary the Gargoyle.

That’s the beauty of life in Maine.  You never know what to expect, but it usually includes snow and/or frigid temperatures.

Here come the Yankees! | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherRegardless, go Yankees!

Spoiler Alert: I’m going to comment on the Season Finale of The Walking Dead.  Nothing major, but if you haven’t watched the episode yet, you might want to skip this part of my Monday Morning Rant.

Seriously, though, Walking Dead?  That’s the way you’re going to end the season after so much buildup to that precise moment?

I threw routine out the window and actually stayed up to watch the show live.  I always record it and watch it on Monday night (what better way to unwind from a Monday than by watching the slaying of zombies???), but I was afraid I’d never be able to avoid last night’s big reveal all day on social media.

I worried for nothing.  My heart was racing over the last fifteen minutes of the show, and I was prepared for the worst.  In fact, I needed to see Negan introduce Lucille to the skull of one of our heroes simply so that I could finally breathe easy again and remind myself it’s just a TV show in which I’ve got way too much invested.

But the producers copped out and decided to drag out the big reveal until Season 7 begins in six months.  Boo!  Hiss!  How anti-climactic.

On that note, I’m going to say goodbye so I can get ready for work.  No cliffhangers here, Modern Philosophers.  I might give you a twist ending, but I’d never leave you hanging.

There’s plenty of coffee, the DVR is set up to record the Yankees at 1:00, and it’s warm and toasty inside The House on the Hill, so make yourselves at home.

Remember, only 17 more hours until this day is done!

Improve your Monday exponentially by following me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 4/4/16

  1. Austin….There’s a family back in Texas that I have known for 50+ years. My buddy’s son (Trevor Story, Colorado Rockies, SS) makes his Big League Debut today! I hope he, as Wee Willie Keeler said, “hits where they ain’t”. BTW, decades before Major League Baseball came to Texas, my Grand Daddy was a Brooklyn Dodgers fan. Go figure. One more thing…did I ever tell you that I got to meet The Commerce Comet, Mickey Mantle? Got an autographed baseball from him. It was at the Grand Opening of one of his restaurants back in my hometown of Irving, Texas. (a Dallas suburb). Quite a thrill for a 12 year old. 1969, I believe.

  2. Oh my. I am not a fan of baseball, have never seen The Walking Dead, and I hate summer weather, which I actually sort of blogged about today. All the same, I can appreciate your enthusiasm for all three!!

Leave a Reply

