The Sweaty Metamorphosis

Spring is in the air, which means it's time for me to make my health a priority again...It’s April, Modern Philosophers, and Spring is finally in the air.

The arrival of Spring means that flowers are blooming, birds are singing, and a certain lazy writer is finally making his health a priority again.

As I established in last week’s post, I’m approaching my personal wellness differently this year.  In 2016, I am not going to fall victim to my usual tunnel vision which only sees the numbers on a scale.

Instead, I’m focusing on improving my weight, my attitude, and my overall outlook on life.

By being more positive, I find I have a greater desire to run, go to the gym, and pay attention to my diet.  I’m no longer allowing stress to gnaw at me, which generally causes me to want to lock myself away from people, after first making a pit stop at the grocery store for some comfort food.

Food is no longer the answer when something bothers me.  To be honest, I simply don’t let things upset me like they used to.  I’m still not sure why I was so grumpy all the time, but I am certain that being positive makes my life a lot easier.

I’ve just stopped being so uptight about things.  When I workout, I usually get on a very strict schedule and refuse to deviate from it in any way.  I had myself convinced that if I didn’t go for a run as soon as I woke up, I would put it off all day and never do it.

This morning, as I was preparing to leave for the gym, an opportunity arose to do something that would bring joy to my day and put me in a great mood.

The Sweaty Metamorphosis | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherOld cranky Austin would’ve passed on it because I was already on my way to the gym and schedules could not be changed.

New and improved Austin immediately jumped at the chance to have some fun.  My priorities have been overly confused for entirely too long, and I have no idea why I can be so rigid and unrelenting.

This morning, I chose correctly.  I prioritized someone who should always be my first priority, and as a result, I had a really good time.

I know this sounds weird, Modern Philosophers, but I have this sneaking suspicion that I sabotage my own happiness.  At times, I swear it’s like there’s a voice in my head telling me I don’t deserve to be happy.

I don’t know what this is all about, but I’m working on getting to the bottom of it.

After changing up my morning plans for the better, I went for a run instead of driving to the gym.  I ended up doing my longest run of the year.  I had to push myself on this one, Modern Philosophers, because my legs were sore and I spent the entire return trip fighting against a very strong wind.

The sense of accomplishment added to my runner’s high made it all worth it.

This was my third run of the week, with each outing being a little longer than the previous.  Tomorrow, I’ll hit the gym to change it up a little bit.

I’m looking forward to tomorrow’s workout even though my body is still in the recovery stages from today’s run.  For some reason, it really wiped me out.

The sweaty metamorphosis has begun. I cannot wait to see the new version of me that meerges from the cocoon!But I don’t care.

I feel awesome, and I’m pumped that my sweaty metamorphosis has began.

I can’t wait to see the new version of me that emerges from the cocoon…

Have you started a new wellness program now that Spring has arrived?

If you want to improve your Social Media Wellness, follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Sweaty Metamorphosis

  1. How delightful that the weather there is such that you can run and work up a sweat! Of course, cold temperatures are not the only reason I have not run, but we’re not talking about me. So glad you are embracing the health, and I shall take your activities as inspiration to run myself. Rock on!

  2. Sheila Moss says:

    Congrats on your self-improvement plan. Being willing to do it is half the battle.

  3. Gail says:

    Squeeee!! Another fitness post! I’ve been jonesing for one. Sunday is my long run day, and I hear you about the strong headwind. I always check my weatherbug app to find out the direction so I can plan my route accordingly, but somehow living by Lake Ontario it doesn’t seem to matter. I am always battered by winds. Welcome in the summer, but not right now. We are expecting snow tonight. Come. On!

    Anyway, it’s funny how focusing on your health leads to other discussions inside you head, non? I cannot follow you on Pinterest as I don’t use it. Are you on Instagram? You take some nifty pictures.

    If I may be so bold…if YOU want some great fitness content, go to my Capable Fitness with Gail Facebook page and “like” it. I’ve been a fitness professional for over twenty years, so most of the time I know what I am talking about. You’ll get, on a daily basis, modifiable exercises, delicious recipes, inspirational messages (don’t we all need that, really?), actionable health advice and some laughs, which by the tone of your blog I know you’d appreciate. You can find it here: https://www.facebook.com/capablyfit/

Leave a Reply

