Monday Morning Coffee Club: 4/11/16

Monday Morning Coffee Club | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherHappy Monday, Modern Philosophers!

A brand new week is upon us, so let’s get it off to a great start by calling this meeting of the Monday Morning Coffee Club to order!

As always, I will be drinking Snapple, but that’s only because I fear that drinking coffee will stunt my growth.

What a week it has been.  There was a power outage last Thursday night that sent me tumbling back into the world of Revolution, a show that the network abandoned at a time when the poor characters were still without power.

How could they be so heartless and leave them trapped in the dark like that?

I passed the time by churning butter, making candles, and working the fields until power was restored late Friday afternoon.  I don’t understand how people complained about blackouts before they had social media to use as a platform to bitch.

We live in remarkable times.

I had two articles published on The Good Men Project last week.  There was my regular Friday column about the importance of names, and then a special edition post on Tuesday about my Deep Thoughts on The Walking Dead season finale.

I’m really enjoying having that regular gig over on GMP, and I’ve already written the first draft of this Friday’s article.  If you haven’t checked out Whoopie Pies & Yankees yet, please give it a shot.

On this blog, I’ve been writing about how I’m putting serious work into my personal wellness program.  It was another big week with my workouts and diet, and the scale told me I’ve lost four pounds over the last two weeks.

I also made strides in fixing me.  I’m not close with my family, but for National Siblings Day yesterday, I had a long phone conversation with my big sister and a lovely Facebook chat with my little sis.

I’m serious about being more positive, outgoing, and cheery like my Dad, so those conversations were as important to my wellness as the runs I went on during the week.

We won Best Picture at the MTV Movie Awards? The Force is strong with those VJs!Of course, the biggest news of the weekend was that Star Wars: The Force Awakens, which was shunned by The Oscars, finally received the recognition it deserved.

Yes, Modern Philosophers, Rey, Kylo Ren and the rest of the crew took home the coveted Best Picture Golden Popcorn at The MTV Movie Awards!

The Force is strong with the MTV crowd!  It’s about time the movie gods smiled upon the flick that made us all forget the horrible prequels that George Lucas cursed us with a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…

Congrats to J. J. Abrams and everyone involved with the movie.  Hopefully, this award encourages you to make a sequel.  I know you weren’t sure if you should, but this honor must convince you that there is a fan base clamoring for one more Star Wars film!

I finally caught my first Yankees action of the season as Saturday’s game was on TV.  So great to see the Boy of Summer back on the field, even though they were bundled up for Winter and it had snowed in Detroit just a few hours before the first pitch.

Well, the intern in the Red Sox hat (who is going to be fired if he doesn’t get that headgear out of my sight immediately!) is signalling that I have to wrap up this post and get ready for work.

That doesn’t mean that the Monday Morning Coffee Club can’t continue without me.  There’s plenty of coffee and some leftover Masters cookies that I baked in the shape of little green jackets.  Enjoy!

Remember, there’s only 17 hours left until Tuesday!

Want a great way to survive Monday?  Follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 4/11/16

  1. stomperdad says:

    Apparently there’s a rumor of a Star Wars movie coming out in Dec. It’s supposed to take place between episodes III and IV. It’ll be about stealing the Death Star plans (the one that many Bothans died to bring us this information). I’m assuming since Snoke is still in power and they just found that other Jedi from before, there is another SW coming.

  2. markbialczak says:

    The Force Be With You on all of your outstanding ventures, Austin. Way to go, my friend.

Leave a Reply

