My Brain Finally Rests

For the first time in three and a half years, I didn't publish a daily blog post.  I thought the island would blow up and the smoke monster would devour me, but all seems to be well...Something historic happened on the blog this week, Modern Philosophers, but I don’t think anyone noticed.

On Wednesday night, for the first time in the three and a half years since I started this blog, I did not publish a post.

The blog did not vanish.

The internet did not collapse.

My brain did not explode.

I simply didn’t write something, and the world remained pretty much exactly the same.

What a relief!

While I love writing my silly stories, there have been times over the past three and a half years when it has seemed like a chore rather than a fun distraction.

When anything becomes a chore, I start to resent it.  Writing should never be something that feels like homework.  Writing is my escape.  It’s the world into which I vanish when reality gets to be too difficult to handle.

There have been some changes to my life lately, and as a result, my priorities have changed.  Writing is still very important, but the publishing of a new daily blog post can no longer be priority one.  I hadn’t even realized that I was putting this blog before other people and activities that are far more deserving of my attention.

At time, I felt like John Locke, trapped in the hatch and waiting to push the damn button...I have to admit, there were times when I felt like John Locke on Lost.  I was alone in the hatch, sitting in front of that computer, waiting to push the button.

I had no idea what would happen if I failed to push the “Publish” button every night, but my overactive imagination assumed it would lead to something disastrous like the island exploding or the Smoke Monster eating me.

Plus, there was a great deal of pride involved in writing something new every night.  It was an incredible challenge at times, and I love a good challenge.

My daily routine was a badge of honor I wore around The House of the Hill, and I made the interns polish it twice a week so it never stopped shining.

However, there’s a new me on this side of the blog post, Modern Philosophers, and this version of Austin has finally accepted that I wouldn’t be a failure, a letdown, or any less of a writer if I stepped away from the blog when my brain needed a rest.

Writing is still my escape, but there are other things out there that not only need my attention, but also make me even happier than sitting all alone and arranging words in complete sentences for the entertainment of others.

My Iron Man blogging streak has finally ended. Lou Gehrig hung up his toga for a night...Yes, it was difficult to bring an end to my Iron Man blogging streak.

I enjoyed being the Lou Gehrig of Blogging (at least in my mind), but the time had come to finally take myself out of the lineup.

And it’s not like I’m not writing as much.  My weekly column on The Good Men Project requires a large time commitment, and I was having difficulty finding that time in my schedule.

The Nite Show also takes up a block of time, and I’ve been tinkering with a very exciting idea for a new screenplay or maybe even a novel.

Despite all my commitments, the number of hours in a day remains constant.  Since I can’t get my time machine prototype (another task that demands more time I don’t have!) to function properly and allow me to add hours to my day, I just had to cut back on the blog.

Don’t worry.  I’m not going anywhere.  Hopefully, taking an occasional break from the daily grind will mean that the quality of writing on here will improve.  I wouldn’t hold my breath waiting for that to happen, but, theoretically, it is a possibility.

Besides, none of you even comment on the fact that I took a day off.  In fact, I didn’t write a post for two consecutive days, and no one seemed to notice.

On a positive note, I seem to be getting my life together.  Ironically, that means there would be less of a need for me to escape it through writing.

But I’ll never stop writing.  I might, however, just pace myself a little better…

Did you miss me while I was away?  You should follow me on Pinterest so you can always get your Austin fix!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to My Brain Finally Rests

  1. cbiz50 says:

    I noticed and knew what you were doing. You have been preparing us for this departure from a daily post. Thank you for including Locke.

  2. leojoy18 says:

    Self care. Beautifully described. Your blogs will be more precious.

  3. Kristina Farrow says:

    Well, I feel terrible for not noticing, Austin. You deserve a break mentally from it, but I am mostly glad that you’re still committed but more committed to balance. It’s all about balance, isn’t it? I have decided to only write on The Amused Me when I want during the A-Z Blog Challenge I’m doing for my business. There is a brilliance to the consistency of your blog. I admire your dedication for sure!

    • Austin says:

      Thank you, Kristina. The voices in my head really deserve credit for the creativity. I’m just the office staff that actually types up their musings. 🙂

  4. jsackmom says:

    I noticed you were absent because of the various blogging groups were in together. So I came over to GMP and read you there. Congratulations on your column I’m happy for your success. 😃🎉🌟

  5. SD Gates says:

    Don’t tell anyone but I have gone like 10 days without blogging and the work still continues to spin. Sounds like you have a lot of really exciting stuff going on. That’s cool!!!

  6. Ritu says:

    I missed your post Austin!
    I realised after nearly a year, that trying to commit to two daily posts, and others I between when felt like it, and being wife, mum and teacher, we’re not gonna happen!
    I cut back and the enjoyment of writing came back!!!

  7. howardat58 says:

    So, and include me, from the above there isn’t a lot of wailing and gnashing of teeth over your decision. Please don’t give it up altogether !!!!!!!

  8. Haha. You’re still a lot more consistent than me.

  9. ksbeth says:

    i just read people’s post as they are published. it truly never occurs to me if someone posts every day or misses some, not that i don’t enjoy them, i just take them as they come and i’m fine with that. i never judge based on frequency. only write when it is enjoyable, stop when it’s not and come back when it feels right again –

  10. kimberly says:

    I still think that three and a half years allows you iron man status. But I am new here.

  11. I loved this post. I often feel like I have no more words in my head to put down on “paper”. I only post once a week and today’s post is along the same lines. Thanks for this, makes me feel like I’m not alone.

  12. markbialczak says:

    Good for you, Austin. Your priorities are top-notch, my friend. The Internet lives on. And you thrive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

