Burning The Caloric Candle At Both Ends

An update on health, fitness, and staying positive. | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherIt was such a long week, Modern Philosophers, that I felt like I was burning the candle at both ends.

No, there wasn’t another power failure.  I’m just quoting one of those old and very wise sayings my Dad liked to use quite often.

Despite the hectic schedule, I still managed to find time to focus on health and fitness.  Once again, I stayed positive even though work presented some challenges that really would’ve messed with the old Austin’s stress levels.  I have developed some new coping skills that really came in handy last week.

I continue to mix up my workouts between outside runs before work and trips to the gym for cardio on the weekend.

I usually hit Planet Fitness once every weekend, but this week, I decided that I needed to go both days.  To this point, I’ve been focusing on the bike, but in an effort to both keep things fresh and to challenge myself, I chose longer, more diverse workouts.

Saturday, I warmed up on the treadmill.  Now I know I have stated on numerous occasions that I despise running on the indoor hamster wheel, but I limited myself to fifteen minutes.  Just enough to work up a sweat (which is, unfortunately, never a problem for me) and to get my heart beating faster.

Then it was on to the bike.  After thirty-five minutes of going nowhere fast, I still had a little spring in my step.  Since I really want to jump start the weight loss, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to cool down on the treadmill before hitting the showers.

Burning the Caloric Candle at Both Ends | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherA quick ten minute run brought my total workout time to one hour.  By far, my longest cardio workout of the year.

And you know what, Modern Philosophers?  My body did not feel completely like jelly.  I took that as a sign that I’m getting stronger.

I went back to the gym this morning with a plan to only bike.  However, after much Deep Thought and my rump aching from the damn bike seat, I decided to end the cycling session after forty minutes and give the treadmill another whirl.

My intention was to walk for ten minutes just to bring my cardio time to fifty minutes.  Once again, though, that damn machine got the better of me, and I ended up running for seventeen minutes.

Needless to say, I was leaking sweat by the time I hobbled off the treadmill and went for a stretch.  Even now, several hours later, I’m very achy.

But it’s an achy feeling of accomplishment, rather than one of laziness.

So I’m actually feeling good about being in pain.

Perhaps the toughest part of this new routine has been controlling my diet.  This week, a coworker passing my desk at noon commented that she had seen me eating a salad every day this week.

She made it sound like a bad thing, which kind of confused me.  I’ve started to look forward to my midday roughage, and I don’t care if others don’t understand.

Looking happier and healthier...and more positive!I’ve managed to pass up on sweets for the past several weeks.  I must confess, though, that Friday night I had quite the craving.  When I went grocery shopping, ice cream was on my list.  I didn’t plan to get a half gallon.  I just wanted the Friendly’s Reese’s Pieces Sundae cup.  I was in the ice cream aisle.  I had the objective in my sights.

But I walked away, Modern Philosophers!

Can you believe it?  I was both stunned and proud.  That never would have happened in the past, so I’m thrilled that I was able to just say no.

Remember, ice cream, that no means no!

A quick check with the scale revealed that I’ve lost 5.5 lbs over the past three weeks.  I’m very excited about that, and it’s certainly going to help me stay positive.

I hope you all had a great week, and let’s do our best to kick ass in the upcoming one!

Want to know more about what makes me tick?  Follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Burning The Caloric Candle At Both Ends

  1. Sheila Moss says:

    Speaking of burning your candle at both ends, where is the Sunday devil column?

Leave a Reply

