Monday Morning Coffee Club: 4/18/16

Monday Morning Coffee Club: 4/18/16 | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherMonday has returned, Modern Philosophers!

It’s like a malicious boomerang, isn’t it?  It always comes back, and even though we know it’s returning, we still don’t see it coming so it smacks us in the back of the head and leaves us dazed and confused.

Today is also Patriots’ Day, but as a Jets fan living in New England, I have a difficult time acknowledging the holiday.  In my muddled mind, today is Football Day, which confuses me because it’s baseball season.

Go Yankees!

So how was your weekend?  Mine was quite relaxing.  The sun was shining, the temperature was finally at an acceptable level for Spring, and I was able to sit out on the porch and write.

Not much relaxes me more than writing on my porch, Modern Philosophers.  It is a sure sign that Snow Miser has been banished, and that the hope and glory of Summer will soon arrive to melt the last of the Winter and Spring snow.

I had a great weekend in terms of fitness.  I put in two extra long workouts at the gym, went for a long after dinner walk on Saturday, and continued to resist the enticing temptation of sweets.

All this really helped with my goal of being a more positive person.  In fact, I’m positive that this is going to be an awesome week.

I’ve got a taping of The Nite Show on Wednesday, which means late nights writing for a couple of days, but it will be well worth it when I’m enjoying the taping with a live studio audience on Wednesday night.  Plus, I get to relax on Thursday’s Writer’s Day!

Do you guys know that I have a weekly column over on The Good Men Project?  It’s published every Friday under the ridiculous title Whoopie Pies & Yankees.

I’m still building an audience, so I would really appreciate it if you could check out this week’s column and share it if you enjoy it.

Bernie Sanders and Hillary Clinton faced off in the ninth Democratic Debate last night in Brooklyn. I was left feeling the Bern for sure, Modern Philosophers!I wrote about politics this week.  More specifically, how Hillary Clinton needs to save us from a future with President Trump by dropping out of the race.

Sure, it’s a bit controversial, but I’m looking to inspire Deep Thoughts and a conversation.  If you do go over to read it, I hope you’ll post a comment to let me know where you stand on the issue.

Here’s the link:  http://goodmenproject.com/featured-content/should-hillary-save-the-nation-by-dropping-out-of-the-race-austin-hodgens-jrmk/

You can also always find me by Googling my name and The Good Men Project.  It still amazes me how those search engines just know where to send us!

Some of you might have noticed that I finally took myself out of the lineup Wednesday night and broke my blogging iron man streak after three and a half straight years of publishing a new daily post.

Life just caught up with me, in a good way, and my priorities have changed.  I’m still going to blog as often as I can, but when something more important comes up, I’m not going to put that on the back burner until my blog post is written.

Part of being more positive is better understanding who and what deserves my time and attention.  Sometimes, I get so lost in my bubble and trapped in my routine that I don’t realize I am missing out on life.

Well, that’s enough babbling out of me for one Monday morning.  Help yourselves to some coffee.  I’ve also baked yummy Football Day cookies in the shape of Jets helmets and Joe Namath’s fur coat.  Enjoy.

Keep in mind, in seventeen hours, it will be Tuesday!

Looking for some excitement on a Monday?  Follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 4/18/16

  1. Well, every national poll has Hillary beating Trump in a general. Not that I like either of those choices a whole lot. Trump is an overconfident, loud jerk. And Hillary is… just horrible. But hey, at least this election cycle is interesting.

Leave a Reply

