Time For A Much Needed Show Biz Break

It's time to take a much needed break from my busy life to attend tonight's taping of The Nite Show With Danny CashmanIt’s been a very busy last couple of weeks, Modern Philosophers, and I think it’s time to put on my TV Writer Boy toga and take a much needed break.

Tonight’s taping of The Nite Show With Danny Cashman comes at a perfect time.  My brain is tired, the voices in my head are shouting over each other to get my attention, and the Deep Thoughts have so much depth at this point that they are clogging up my neck.

The perfect way to escape from all the hustle and bustle is to sneak off to The Gracie Theatre and assist in making late night TV magic for a few hours.

How many people can actually say that, Modern Philosophers?  I consider myself very lucky that I have the option to leave my life behind for a little while and head for a mini vacation in TV Land.

Even though a television taping is a very busy, very high pressure experience, I find it incredibly relaxing.  As a writer, I’ve done all my hard work already.  Show night is when I get to put my feet up, mingle with the fans, and allow myself to be entertained.

Writers have it easy once the camera roll.  We’ve already done all we can do, and if we don’t need to appear in a sketch, the only pressure on us to have as much fun as possible.

If you can get a gig as a TV writer, I highly recommend it!

This blog is temporarily closed for a taping of The Nite Show!Tonight, I’ll get to mingle with US Olympian Julia Clukey and the Governor himself, Paul LePage.  Sure, I often write disparaging jokes about Maine’s Governor, but he’s been on the show before and has made absolutely no mention of the jokes we write about him.

Maybe I’ll ask to take a selfie with him.  Wouldn’t that make for an exciting profile pic on Facebook?

I’m not sure if I’ll do my usual behind he scenes photos and live tweeting, though.

I really am completely exhausted, and I might just find my usual seat in the second row and simply veg.  Or I might hang out backstage and see if I can get the Governor to put on an eye patch for an awesome The Walking Dead photo op.

One never knows what might happen at a taping of The Nite Show!

I do wish you could all join me tonight.  Wouldn’t that make for an awesome blog outing, Modern Philosophers?  We should try to set that up for next season.  I’ll get the interns on it right away.

Hope you’re all having a great day.  I’ll be back for more blogging later…

Can’t join me at tonight’s taping of The Nite Show?  How about hanging out with my on Pinterest instead?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Time For A Much Needed Show Biz Break

  1. markbialczak says:

    Have a great, fun, relaxing taping time, Austin. I wish I could go to the theater. Once I get my Jetsons car, maybe. 🙂

  2. Ocean Bream says:

    I hope you have a great time, Austin. You deserve it.

  3. ksbeth says:

    have fun, austin, i know it’s one of your favorite activities, even if you’re tired )

  4. Enjoy! It’s great that you still appreciate that it is a special experience. I always felt like I was meant for greatness, not in like the Abe Lincoln or JFK variety, but in the Hollywood sense. Or cable TV. Or Community Theater. You know, something. Alas, my lack of talent has steadfastly prevented me from achieving my dream. Sad, right?

  5. The Hook says:

    My hat’s off to you, Austin.
    Being a loser like me sucks.

    • Austin says:

      You ever said you were a loser? You’re awesome, dude! 🙂

      • The Hook says:

        No, I’m not.
        I’m a good husband and dad, but as a writer I’ve failed at everything I’ve ever attempted.

        Even the world of travel-writing mom and dads is beyond me. That group is made up of several bullies who flaunt their status online and refuse to let others in.

      • Austin says:

        I’m sorry. I love your blog posts and you are always welcome to share your Deep Thoughts on my blog!

      • The Hook says:

        Thanks.
        My creativity – and confidence – is dead right now, though.

      • Austin says:

        I’m sorry to hear that. As you well know, you get nowhere in life, and less further still in writing, when you quick. Get back up and keep at it!

Leave a Reply

