The Old Strip and Sprint Trick

I was up early on Writer's Day, and one of the first things I did was go for a run. I'm all about health, fitness, and being positive!Happy Writer’s Day, Modern Philosophers!

I was up bright and early on my day off enjoying a priority that has become extremely important to me ever since I started down my Positive Lifestyle and Fitness Path.

It’s amazing how much life can change if you alter your perspective.  Until recently, my top priority on Writer’s Day would have been to sleep as late as possible.

Instead today, I was awake hours before I would have been on a normal work day.

Life is different, Modern Philosophers, and to quote the great Philosopher Clown Ronald McDonald, “I’m lovin’ it!”

I eventually got out of bed, put on my running gear and headed out to put 3 miles under my belt.  As you can see from that first photo, I had on my running hoodie.

Even though it’s late April, the mornings in Maine are still very chilly.  I also had on sweatpants because it isn’t warm enough yet to bless the neighborhood with a view of my stunning runner’s legs.

About a mile into my run, on what turned out to be a gorgeous Spring morning (I had to check to make sure I was actually still in Maine!), I realized I wasn’t going to make it back to The House on the Hill dressed as I was.

I was just too darn hot and the sun had me locked in its sights.

I tried rolling up the sleeves on my hoodie, but they’d only go up a couple of inches.  I attempted to hike up the legs on my sweatpants as I continued to run, which was just plain stupid given how much of a klutz I am.

The Old Strip and Sprint Trick | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherEventually, common sense reared its ugly head, and I slipped off my hoodie, miraculously doing so without getting it all tangled in my ear buds.

I’m pretty sure a passing car honked in appreciation of my little strip show.  In my mind, this vehicle I couldn’t see because I had my hoodie pulled over my head and was running blind on one of the busiest streets in my neighborhood, was filled with beautiful women, who tossed dollar bills in my general direction.

In fact, I posted a status update on Facebook that said my little in-run strip show had netted my $8.

Of course, one of my wise acre friends immediately replied “Only $8???”.

I only took off the hoodie, so I think $8 would be quite the windfall.  Perhaps I will experiment further on a future run.  Women of my neighborhood, do not go out for a morning drive without packing some singles for the trip!

Naturally, I had no idea what to do with the hoodie for the remaining two miles.  At first, I balled it up and carried it like a football, but I worried that some moron linebacker would sprint out of a side street, blindside me, and cause me to fumble.

This deep thinking Modern Philosopher finally decided it would be best to tie the unneeded hoodie around his waist.  Since it was me, it not only kept slipping off, but it also choked me because I tied it around my waist and over the wires to my ear beds.

Eventually, I figured out that I needed to tie it under the wires, but I spent the last mile of my run constantly tightening the hoodie around my waist.

Just Run! | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherSure, I must have looked like a total geek, but since I’m all about being more positive now, I’m going to count that as extra cardio work and additional calories burned.

All in all, it was a great run on a spectacular Spring morning.  My Writer’s Day is off to a smashing start, and I think I’ve got another blog post in me for later.

Hope you’re all having a great Writer’s Day, too!  I’d love to hear all about your day in the comments section…

You might not want to follow me out on the road for a run, but why not follow me on Pinterest?  It’s fun and a lot less sweaty!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Old Strip and Sprint Trick

  1. howardat58 says:

    You need a small two wheel trailer, a mini rickshaw, to put your outfit in, on to of the portable defibrillator !

  2. Your post reminded me that I meant to take a walk this morning. I truly just forgot. Hopefully this evening. It’s too hot now where we live. Also, thanks for making me lol with your running visuals. 👏😜

Leave a Reply

