Greetings From [REDACTED]

I've been on vacation. Did anyone miss me? | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherI’ve been on vacation, Modern Philosophers.  Miss me?

Because I had to sign a Non-Disclosure Agreement, I really can’t tell you much about where I went or what I did, but I wanted you to know I had an amazing time.

There was a lot of eating and very little exercising, but I can assure you that I made great strides with my goals to improve my life and be more positive.

It was a conscious decision to go off the grid, unplug from social media, and better prioritize my time.

As I’ve been saying for the past two months, I wasn’t putting the right people or things first.  My life was ridiculously predictable, and not in a good way.  For the past week, I threw caution to the wind, didn’t worry about bank statements, and followed my heart.

I have to tell you I had the most enjoyable time.

Despite my NDA, I can share that I went to the eye doctor on Monday.  Sure, not exactly an activity anyone would associate with vacation fun, but there’s some great symbolism coming up here, Modern Philosophers, so pay attention.

I feel like I had become totally blind to the world around me, and this vacation gave me a much needed update to my outdated eyeglass prescription.

I just had the most amazing vacation.  I wish it didn't have to end, but I'm so glad that I allowed myself to enjoy it...Life is much clearer now.  I locked eyes on the one thing in my life that makes me happiest, and then did not let it out of my sight for seven days.

How blind was I to not realize I was ignoring happiness and instead embracing anger, frustration, and self pity?

How could I not see that my inner grumpy old man had scared away all my other personalities and taken total control of my life?

For the past seven days, I did a lot of smiling, an unbelievable amount of laughing, and virtually no worrying.

A new Austin lives at The House on the Hill.  He is exhausted from enjoying life, rather than because life has put him through the wringer.

I went to a concert on my vacation.  Danny, my boss at The Nite Show, offered me a couple of free tickets to a show at The Gracie on Thursday night, and I jumped at the opportunity to do something different.

Besides, New Austin likes to sing…even more so when he has an adoring audience.

The only thing we knew about Marc Cohn was that he sang “Walking In Memphis”, and that was enough for us.

Marc CohnWhen Cohn addressed the crowd after his first song, he referred to his material as “brooding Jew music”, which earned him quite a laugh.  He went on to explain that it was the twenty-fifth anniversary of the release of his first album, and he was doing something special to celebrate.

He was going to play the entire album for us in order, and tell us the inspiration behind every song.  It ended up being quite an enjoyable evening.  Cohn was an amazing performer, the stories behind the songs were entertaining, and I had the best view in the house…

I wish I could tell you more about my vacation, Modern Philosophers, but on my journey to self-improvement, I’ve learned that not everything in life is material for my blog.

Some things are better off kept between me and the source of my happiness…

Since I was unplugged on Friday, I didn’t get a chance to tell you about this week’s column over on The Good Men Project.  You can find it at: http://goodmenproject.com/featured-content/how-an-altar-boy-became-the-other-man-ahodgens-jrmk/

Remember, you wanted to follow me on Pinterest, too…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Greetings From [REDACTED]

  1. ksbeth says:

    so glad to hear. whatever you did and where you did it )

  2. Sheila Moss says:

    Welcome back. Glad you had a fun time and hope your creative juices are now flowing.

  3. grannyK says:

    It’s not easy to reinvent yourself. I’m trying to do that as well. I’m glad you had a good vacation!

  4. I’m glad you had a great time, and I absolutely noticed your absence and missed your posts… Glad you’re back and happier for it!

Leave a Reply

