After Dinner Mints: I See You

After Dinner Mints: I See YouI’m still on vacation, Modern Philosophers, but Vacation Phase Two does not include a ban on social media.

That means you can get a quick blog post out of my extremely relaxed brain as I sit out on the porch of The House on the Hill and soak up some sun.

This second week has been much different from the first.  While I’m not having nearly as much fun as I had last week, I’ve still got quite a buzz going.

I’d like to think that my vacation high will never end.  That might not be realistic, but I am Mr. Positive lately.

Never underestimate the powers of an awesome vacation!

I’ve gone into work for five hours each of the last two days.  I know that’s a weird way to spend a vacation, but my original plans got altered and I already had the time off.  Plus, it’s super busy at the office, so I thought I’d lend a hand for a few hours and save up some of my vacation time for my next vacation.

It’s good karma and smart planning all rolled into one easy to use package!

Getting home in the middle of the afternoon was delightful today.  The weather was beautiful so I went for a run.  I might have slacked off last week while I was enjoying myself, so my body really needed this.

I huffed and puffed my way through about 3.5 miles and it felt good.  Even though my body was struggling with the run, my mind was not.  I daydreamed through the entire route, and my inner peace adroitly kept itself separated from my outer sweat.

No small feat.

The highlight of yesterday was that I finally got my new glasses.

Of course, I refer to them as eyeglasses, but I have been told that it is ridiculous to call them anything more than glasses.  Maybe I’m old fashioned, but I don’t see why it’s a problem to add those extra three letters.

The Modern Philosopher has new glasses!Anyhow, here’s a photo of me in my new specs.

What do you think of them?

They’re not so different from my previous ones that it is a jarring change, but I think it’s just enough to show that I am a new man.

I am literally seeing life differently.

The eye doctor admonished me for waiting eight years between appointments, and this was my first change in prescription since I moved to Maine thirteen years ago.

Yes, Modern Philosophers, I had been wearing the same (eye)glasses I had when I was an unhappily married man living in California.

I am now officially done with any part of my life from before I moved across country to The House on the Hill.

It’s funny that my glasses, which often were ridiculously rose colored during my marriage, survived much longer than married life.

I’m not sure why I’ve gone off on this odd tangent, but you never know what might happen when you grab a handful of after dinner mints…

When you’re done bogarting all the mints, follow me on Pinterest…

 

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to After Dinner Mints: I See You

  1. SD Gates says:

    I like the eye glasses. You look quite dashing in them. Enjoy the rest of your vacation.

  2. cbiz50 says:

    Anderson Cooper eyeglasses! Fantastic…and “bogart” only brings one line to me from a classic movie…

  3. I like them! And I understand about putting off going to the (eye)doctor. It always seems to be the one thing that can wait, and then the new (eye)glasses are so expensive. But I have no choice but to go more often to get an updated (contact)lens prescription, or 1-800-TAKE YOUR MONEY won’t send me new ones. It’s pretty sad, really.

    • Austin says:

      These glasses were so expensive, too. I justify the cost by reminding myself I haven’t had to buy a new pair in almost 15 years…

Leave a Reply

