Monday Morning Coffee Club: 5/16/16

Monday Morning Coffee Club: 5/6/16I have been incredibly positive lately, Modern Philosophers, and this morning, I’ve never been more positive that I did not want to get out of bed.

I hit the snooze button so many times that my alarm clock threatened to file a restraining order if I touched it again.

Yes, it is my first official day back to work after vacation.

No, I do not want to go.

Alas, unlike poor Pip in Great Expectations, I have yet to find a mysterious benefactor who will pay my way.

That’s right, Modern Philosophers, I’m tossing a little Dickens at you this early in the morning.  Deal with it!

Staying with the plot of my favorite Dickens novel, I feel more of a connection to Miss Havisham, who refused to leave her home or change out of her wedding dress after she was jilted at the altar on her big day.

I might not be in a wedding dress (but my toga certainly could be mistaken for one!), but I definitely don’t want to leave The House on the Hill.  Why can’t I just stay here, keep writing, and still receive a paycheck from work?

That sounds like the American Dream to me.  Let’s make it happen.

Speaking of dreams, I had a crazy one last night.  I was in Boston, not far from Fenway Park, and I was watching the Yankees and the Red Sox game on TV.  I kept taking photos of Boston to prove that I was a quick throw across the diamond away from Fenway, but I couldn’t get the damn photos to post on Facebook!

I really believe that Jesse Eisenberg is Mark Zuckerberg now. Look at what movies have done to me!What the hell, Zuckerberg?  Focus on fixing your damn site instead of playing Lex Luthor!

Sorry.  I need to calm down.  I shouldn’t be taking out my angst about having to return to work on poor Jesse Eisenberg.  I mean, he only plays Mark Zuckerberg in The Social Network.  He’s not the real dude.

Just the other day, I caught the end of Zombieland on cable, and I mentioned to the person trapped on the couch with me how funny I found it that the founder of Facebook was now battling zombies.

But that incident happened during the first week of my vacation back when life was so good that I might be so bold as to label it as perfect.

That was a different time.  Maybe I was Pip during that week and I had found my beautiful Estella and all was well with the world.

Isn’t it weird how this post keeps coming back to Great Expectations?

Well, it’s time to put on my game face and prepare for my return to the daily grind.  I will never forget that vacation because it changed my life in a way that will probably inspire a novel of its own.

Don’t worry, I won’t call it Greater Expectations

Happy Monday, Modern Philosophers!

Follow me on Pinterest.  All the cool kids are doing it!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 5/16/16

  1. Sheila Moss says:

    That’s the wonderful thing about retirement. You don’t have to work and the checks still come.

  2. Great Expectations is one of my all time favorite stories! If you figure out how to find that mysterious benefactor, can you let me in on the secret?? 😉

  3. OK, truth be told, Great Expectations is the only book I ever had to read that I absolutely couldn’t stand. In 9th grade English, they even let us watch the movie version, revealing how little faith they had in our ability to slog through it. I really love reading a number of different genres, but I just couldn’t get behind that book. Thanks for reminding me that I don’t want to give it another try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

