Disturbed By The Sound Of Silence

Are you disturbed by the sounds of silence?Hello, Modern Philosophers, my old friends.  I’ve come to talk with you again…

I don’t know about you, but I’ve never been a fan of the old torture method known as “The Silent Treatment”.

Nothing gets under my skin more than being ignored by someone I love.  When I was married, it was the ultimate Weapon of Mass Relationship Destruction in J’s arsenal.

She knew it destroyed me when she invoked radio silence, and she eventually used it to cause Marriage Armageddon.

I’m not bringing this up right now, though, because I’m being ignored by someone that I love.  Nothing could be further from the truth.

You know that I’ve been making major changes in my life, and a high priority to me now is being a better communicator.  While I do not like being ignored, I know I am guilty of dropping off the radar when all is not well in my world.

Yes, Modern Philosophers, I will admit publicly that there is a giant shell in the basement of The House on the Hill, and I used to crawl into it when life was not going well.

Well, tomorrow is garbage day in my neighborhood, and I’m proud to announce that my giant shell is out on the curb waiting to be picked up with the rest of the trash.  Thankfully, the interns were still here when I got home, so they carried that damn thing up the basement stairs and then lugged it down the driveway to the curb.

What?  You didn’t think I was going to carry it, did you?

I don’t think my human size shell will ever be needed again, nor do I worry about being attacked with “The Silent Treatment”.  I have made great strides in my self improvement, and the vision that was planted in my brain still remains…

Simon and Garfunkel really knew how to rock a certain look, didn't they?Do you ever get a song stuck in your head?  All day long, I’ve been singing “The Sound of Silence”.  Yes, the song those two wrote.

I heard it on the radio last night on the drive home, and it’s been haunting me ever since.

Of course, the version stuck in my head is not the original by Simon and Garfunkel, but rather, the new one by Disturbed.  It’s dark, broody, epic, and I know I just used this word in the previous paragraph, but it totally fits…haunting.

It’s always been a catchy, well written song, but there’s something about this take on it that really echoes through my brain.

I’m repeatedly stuck on the lyrics: “The words of the prophets are written on the subway walls, and tenement halls.  And whispered in the sound of silence.”

Paul Simon’s words are deep, dude.  They also remind me of New York.  Maybe that’s why I can’t shake this song.

I wanted to share the video by Disturbed.  Let me know what you think in the comments section.  Do you prefer this version or the old school one?  How do you feel about “The Silent Treatment?”

If you’re not too disturbed by my musical tastes, you should follow me on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Love, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Disturbed By The Sound Of Silence

  1. ksbeth says:

    i love the original and glad you can toss that shell away forever )

  2. Sheila Moss says:

    Wow, love the video. Very powerful imagery. Of course, he had a good song to start with. Simon & Garfunkel’s version will always be the classic. As for the silent treatment, no comment.

  3. In all truth, I love them both for different reasons. I find the one from Disturbed just awesome. Awesome. But the original is…well, the original. I think it depends on the day which I’d want to hear, you know? But either way the lyrics are the most powerful part, for me.

  4. BarbCT says:

    I will always favor the original by Simon and Garfunkel, but this one has a certain power in the single voice as opposed to the softness of the duet. With Disturbed you get more of a feel of the emotion behind the lyrics.

  5. coachpyland says:

    Both versions are haunting. Thanks for sharing. I didn’t know Disturbed had covered it. Very powerful.

  6. I am a purist so have to say I love the original. B’bye and good riddance to your shell!

  7. As a fellow hibernator, I understand the shell. In fact, I read that when a bird heals, going inside a box without being disturbed aids that healing process. I personally think it’s okay to hide away sometimes – as long as it’s not forever. You clearly have the part figured out.
    Love both versions of the song. I heard the S&G version while I was exploring Mammoth Cave in KY as a young girl–the song has haunted me ever since.

  8. stomperdad says:

    Live the song… both versions. As for the silent treatment, I dispise it.

  9. E.L. Wicker says:

    I have a permanent shell that I hide in, and I cannot stand the silent treatment. Reading your blog I’ve always noticed how we are quite alike. Although…y’know…snow. Ha. 😀

Leave a Reply

