Monday Morning Coffee Club: 5/23/16

Monday Morning Coffee Club: 5/23/16Happy Monday, Modern Philosophers!

The sun is shining, the birds are singing, and the snowmen are finally melting!  Yes, it looks like Spring has invaded Maine in full force and banished the evil Winter despot Snow Miser from our borders.

What a gorgeous weekend!  I spent a lot of time outside, and most of that time was actually voluntary.

I had a little bit of a run in with my yard yesterday, which led to some scrapes and scratches, lots of cursing, and an incredible amount of sweat, but in the end, it was a positive experience because the lawn and yard look great.

For another week at least…

Summer unofficially begins a week from today on Memorial Day, so I am going to enjoy and make the most of this one week of Spring that Maine gets every year.

The main goal of this weekend was to recharge my batteries.  I worked a lot of overtime last week and my energy was severely depleted.  I needed a lazy weekend to just allow my fuel cells to regenerate.  I’m an older model, so my power pack needs a little more time to replenish itself.

Only five days stand between me and a much needed long weekend.  I am going to stay positive, focus on Friday at 5:00, and will myself to get there unscathed.

Another MondayI don’t have anything lined up for Memorial Day weekend yet, but something tells me (and that something is my stomach) that cheeseburgers and red hot dogs will be involved!  Yum!

Maybe you guys should all come to The House on the Hill for a barbecue!

Nothing can turn a Monday into a Fun Day like grilled meats, ice cold beverages, and a landslide of delicious sides, am I right?

So as I prepare for this work week, I’m going to keep positive by plotting out the menu for a killer Memorial Day barbecue.  What will you guys be throwing on the grill next Monday?  Let’s talk it out and we can all get through this Monday on a meat high.

I just find it really helps to look forward to all the great things that await me.  Sometimes, the present is a little too bland and even overwhelming for my tastes.  By spicy it up with thoughts of an amazing future, I can get through any day or situation.

I hope this little Monday pep talk helps you to conquer the day without fear.  There’s plenty of coffee, so help yourself.

Seriously, please fill up the comments section with menu ideas for the perfect Memorial Day barbecue.  Let’s get some chatter going on out there.  I want to hear from you!

Don’t forget to follow me on Pinterest!

 

 

 

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 5/23/16

  1. Sheila Moss says:

    Steaks or ribs, potato salad, cole slaw and baked beans. Call me when the food is ready.

  2. stuckinscared says:

    marshmallows 🙂

  3. You know, when you say “killer” barbecue to a vegetarian…we couldn’t agree more. Might I suggest some veggie burgers, veggie dogs, or just plain veggies? Please keep name calling to a minimum. You can’t be absolutely certain that I don’t hear you.

Leave a Reply

