Monday Morning Coffee Club: Memorial Day 2016

Monday Morning Coffee Club: Memorial Day 2016Happy Memorial Day, Modern Philosophers!

I always love a Monday that doesn’t feel like a Monday, and this is definitely one such day.  I got to sleep in, I don’t have to go to work, and there are some delicious red hot dogs in my future.

Of course, this holiday isn’t about having a long weekend, skipping a day of work, or firing up the barbecue.

Today is about honoring our true heroes.  These men and women aren’t around today to enjoy the holiday, but if it weren’t for them, we might not be celebrating, either.

Thank you to everyone who has ever served in this country’s Armed Force, but let us never forget those who gave their lives so that we might know freedom.

You will be in my thoughts and prayers…

As for the day itself, it is raining right now, but I intend to get in some yard work once the skies clear.  The mighty Bamboo Forest has returned at the side of the house, so its destruction is priority one for today.

Once that has been destroyed, I need to give the front lawn a trim.

I really do know how to relax and enjoy a holiday, don’t I?

Don’t worry, Modern Philosophers.  As I mentioned earlier, red hot dogs are on the menu today along with some potato salad, macaroni salad, and Snapple.  I might make a burger and fries tonight as well.

As long as there's hope, a dream has life | The Modern PhilosopherOf course, it wouldn’t be Memorial Day without baseball.  The Yankees are on tonight, and I plan to relax and enjoy the game with my dinner.  It doesn’t get more American than that.

Memorial Day has also always sparked my urge to write more.  I believe it’s linked to the memory of Memorial Day being the start of the blockbuster Summer Movie Season.

I’ve seen so many amazing films over the years on this weekend, and it’s always been my dream to have a flick written me open over Memorial Day.

My life is definitely headed in the right direction now, so perhaps this Memorial Day movie dream will become a reality.  I certainly believe in myself, and as long as there’s hope, a dream has life.

I hope you all have a Happy Memorial Day.  If you have any special plans, please share them in the comments.  I love it when the comments are overflowing with your Deep Thoughts…

Don’t forget to follow me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: Memorial Day 2016

  1. Jennifer says:

    Memorial Day weekend I do a film fest of war movies–its my way of paying tribute. My father was in WWII, so that’s where I usually go with movies like The Battle of Midway and The Longest Day. But this year, I’m watching Band of Brothers.

  2. stuckinscared says:

    “As long as there’s hope, a dream has life.” sounds like a very pinnable quote to me… most likely to do well as text on a blank (or nature/sky) background. Go… 😉

    P.S Great post!

    • Austin says:

      So how would I do that? Just make it on canva or somehow attach it to the post? I never know how to do these things…

      • stuckinscared says:

        Sorry I missed this earlier. You didn’t need me though… you did a grand job on your own 🙂 See how it pins… if it does well then leave it as it is… I like it.

        if it doesn’t take off, then try removing the bit from directly under the quote and moving it down (+smaller+lighter) …and fading out your blog url at the bottom slightly (like a watermark)… that way the quote stands out, appearing to stand alone… the quote-lovers-quote-pinners might be more likely to share it from their feed if the main focus is the quote.

        Hope that helps… I’m off to pin it now 🙂

      • Austin says:

        Thanks. I’ve never tried this.I’m curious to see how it goes. 🙂

    • Austin says:

      I think I did it! Added it to the post. What do you think?

  3. Bren says:

    Too many people forget about the true meaning of Memorial Day. I’m glad that you’re sharing awareness about it. Go Yankees!

Leave a Reply

