After Dinner Mints: NBA Finals

After Dinner Mints: NBA FinalsThe NBA Finals begin tonight, Modern Philosophers, and I’m oddly interested enough to write a blog post about it.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve got nothing against basketball.  I was a rabid fan of the Knicks when I lived in New York, but my interest in the NBA has waned severely over the years.

I’m sure some of it has to do with the Knickerbockers falling from the league’s elite and even becoming a laughingstock for some time.

But something about the league bothered me.  I still love to watch college basketball, and March Madness is definitely a sports highlight of my year, but the pros lost me.

I can’t really put my finger on what it is about the NBA that soured it for me, but I just stopped caring.  Sure, I’ll check on the Knicks from time to time, but I don’t sit down to watch them on the rare occasion they are on TV these days.

Something has changed this year, though.  I got caught up in the amazing start of the Golden State Warriors, and found myself rooting for them to break the Chicago Bulls’ record for most wins in the season.

Now that definitely had a lot to due with how much I hate the Bulls.  You couldn’t grow up a Knicks fan in the era I did without disliking Jordan’s Bulls.  They always seemed to beat my guys in the big games, and something about their swagger really @#$$%^ me off!

But I also found myself really enjoying the Warriors’ style of play.  Run and gun, high scoring West Coast basketball is definitely fun to watch.  I love a good shoot out, and I’m a big fan of the three-point shot.

After Dinner Mints: NBA FinalsAnd how can you not like Steph Curry?  He’s an amazing player, two time MVP, the first unanimous MVP selection in NBA history, and a hell of a shot.  I especially like his clutch performances and how enthusiastic he gets when he hits a monster, back beaking three.

Now that I’ve given it some Deep Thought, one of the reasons the NBA lost me is I started to dislike the players.  They were too entitled.  Too thuggish.  Too interested in being in the spotlight rather than a part of a team.

Sure, Steph Curry gets brash and cocky, but I admire the way he does it.  He gets the way a player should be.

When he was entering the draft, I prayed to the Basketball Gods that the Knicks would be able to draft him.  Alas, it was not meant to be.  I was right, though.  Curry was exactly what the Knicks needed to return to the ranks of the NBA’s elite teams.

So I’m definitely interested in the NBA Finals this year, and will be rooting for the Warriors.  I still can’t find Golden State on my map, but I know it’s a magical land where the Warriors will be raining down threes on the Cavaliers.

Speaking of the other team, I’m not a fan of Cleveland.  If the Warriors had not made it to the Finals, I would not be watching.  But I would root against the Cavs in my absence.

LeBron James will not win the NBA title this year...I just don’t like LeBron James.  Again, I’m not sure exactly why I’m not a fan of the second best player in the NBA, but I think it has a bit to do with attitude.

I was totally turned off by the circus he made of his signing with Miami.

I know he’s an amazing player, but something about him rubs me the wrong way.  He will do well in the Finals, but the Warriors are going to beat the Cavs and hoist the trophy for the second consecutive year.

What do you think, Modern Philosophers?  Are you rooting for the Warriors, Cavaliers, or do you simply not care?  If you could have either Steph Curry or LeBron James on your team, who would you choose?

Want to be a champion without ever having to step on the court and risk pulling a hamstring?  Follow me on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to After Dinner Mints: NBA Finals

  1. My vote is squarely in the simply don’t care column. And not for lack of trying. I just can’t get into it anymore.

Leave a Reply

