Monday Morning Coffee Club: 6/13/16

Monday Morning Coffee Club: 6/13/16Look at that, Modern Philosophers…the calendar says that it’s Monday again.  How about that?  Seems like only yesterday I was leaving the weekend behind to get ready to go to work.

Wait.  That was yesterday.  For some curious reason, I agreed to work at 7AM on a Sunday.  Ridiculous.

Overtime can be a windfall for the bank account, but it doesn’t do anything but bankrupt the old sleep bank.  I’m clearly lacking funds in that account and will probably need to borrow some sleep time from my work day.

Maybe a nap on my lunch break is exactly what the Sandman ordered.  Even if it isn’t, it sounds delightful.

I  feel like I’m living in my own version of Groundhog Day, only without Bill Murray’s salary, or the film’s critical acclaim.

All the days have been bleeding into each other, especially since I’ve been working overtime for the past month.

Worst of all, every day feels exactly the same.  Mondays really make me feel like I’m onto something with this Groundhog Day theory because every Monday, I leave work a little early to go to my doctor’s appointment.

Perhaps I should discuss this feeling of intense deja vu at my appointment this afternoon.  It’s getting to the point, even more so now that I’ve been working on Sundays, that I cannot distinguish one day from another.

My personal Groundhog Day...Last Thursday, I was positive it was Wednesday.  Even though I didn’t see a single camel (and no married ones, either!), I was sure it was Hump Day.

What is going on, Modern Philosophers?  How can I shake it up a little to snap out of this rut and routine?  How can I ensure that Tuesday has its own identity again?  Can I get Calgon to take me away?

Luckily, there are changes on the horizon.  Big changes.  I know that they are coming and cannot wait for them to arrive, so perhaps that’s why every day seems like a repeat of the previous one.  I desperately want to speed up time to get to the day when my life changes significantly for the better, so maybe I’m just refusing to give any detail to the days I’ve been living.  I’m living them in a blur to get to where I need to be.

To top it all off, there is a furry woodland creature that looks eerily like a groundhog who spends a lot of time on my property.  I have named him Woodrow, although he never answers me when I call him that.

Woodrow just likes to nibble on my lawn, and then scurries away when he sees me.  I actually wish he’d eat more of the grass so I don’t have to mow it every week.

Well, I think I’ve subjected you to enough of my bizarre ramblings this morning.  Hopefully, this odd post has made you feel much better about your Monday.

The coffee is on, so help yourself.  If you see Woodrow, give him my best!

A great way to get through Monday is by following me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 6/13/16

  1. Jennifer says:

    I work OT almost every day, only problem is, as a manager I don’t see extra money. But when you need to rest, you need to rest. I took a vacation day today just so I could that.

  2. Shirley Corder says:

    Thanks Austin for sharing your feelings in such a light-hearted way. I am retired and write from home every day. So I am always grateful for Sundays that come round once a week. On Sundays I go to Church, and I know I’m into a new week. Otherwise, I never would know the days of the week either. (I may not know it’s Wednesday, but I can count back and tell you it’s “three days after Sunday).

  3. wccunningham says:

    You just confused the hell out of me as to what day it is. Thankfully, I haven’t worked a Sunday in six years.

  4. I like how random and active your pinterest board is! 😉

Leave a Reply

