Oops! I Went For A Run

Oops! I Went For A Run | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherWe all have accidents, Modern Philosophers.

Without them, some of us might not even be here.  I know that line was a little harsh, but numbers are down on the blog, and my adviser told me I needed to be a little edgier.

I think he’s a tool, though, so don’t expect many more rude outbursts like that.  It’s not my style, and I really shouldn’t have allowed that sentence to be published.

Like I said, though, accidents happen…

You might have noticed that there has been a substantial drop off in the number of fitness posts lately.

That’s because I’ve been slacking off again.

It’s not exactly my fault this time, though.  Before you roll your eyes, hear me out.  I did something to my leg a few weeks ago.  I’m not sure what it was, but there are times when it hurts or I get up from my desk and have to walk with a noticeable limp.

I think I strained my hamstring or groin, but I’ve been keeping it on the down low because I didn’t want to go to the doctor and have to pay for an ultrasound to tell me that I strained my hamstring or groin.

As a result, I’ve been taking it easy, allowing my body to heal, and dodging questions about why I haven’t been running or going to the gym.

This morning, I decided it was time to do something active.  It’s a gorgeous day in Maine, and I couldn’t just sit it out nursing an injury of an undetermined nature.

I might want to shave when I get back from my run...So, I decided to go for a walk.  I figured a half hour of walking, while not the same as a half hour of running, was better than no exercise at all.  Besides, how could I not be out in this weather?  Maine doesn’t get many days like this, and I wanted to take advantage of it before the snow returned.

About a quarter mile in, I decided to test my leg.  I was going uphill, which would force me to take it nice and slow, so it was the perfect time to see if I could handle a pace above “lazy walker”.

To my delight, I was able to make it up the hill and turn onto Eastern Avenue without incident.

I slowed it back down to a walk so as not to overdo it.  Plus, it’s easier to pat myself on the back at a slower pace.

After about a minute and a half, I was fairly certain that my leg wasn’t going to fall off, so I picked up the pace again.  This time, my goal was to make it to the 1.5 mile mark, and then walk for a bit as I headed back to The House on the Hill.

I’m infamous for pushing myself too hard after an injury, so I was determined to take it slow.  There wasn’t supposed to be running of any kind on this adventure, so I had already become an accidental runner, which probably wasn’t the best idea.

With that in mind, I hit the halfway point of my run, and then completely ignored my vow to take it easy.

I might not have a runner's mindset, but I do have a runner's legs...I didn’t stop running (trust me, I wasn’t moving that quickly) until I’d make it back to The House on the Hill.  Then I paused to take some selfies because that’s what runners do in this day and age.

It wasn’t my intention to run almost three miles today, Modern Philosophers.

It just happened by accident…

Of course, I’ve got to pound the pavement to keep my legs looking like that.  Sexy runner’s legs are no accident, my friends.

Oops!  I went for a run.  And I’m damn glad I did.

You know what might whip you into shape?  Following me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Oops! I Went For A Run

  1. ksbeth says:

    like brittney spears – ‘oops, he did it again!’ – bravo )

  2. tric says:

    No pain, no gain. Mind you I now think that is a saying to be used only up to the age of 30.
    It must have felt good though today?

  3. Joseph Nebus says:

    Well, good on you. I hope tomorrow is pleasant.

  4. Gail says:

    RICE. Rest, Ice, Compression and Elevation. You were doing the first, but how about the latter three? You’re right though, Sexy runner legs don’t happen by accident!!

Leave a Reply

