Monday Morning Coffee Club: 6/27/16

Monday Mrning Coffee Club: The Late EditionYou know it’s been a wild Monday, Modern Philosophers, when the Monday Morning Coffee Club Meeting isn’t called to order until dinner time.

Sorry about that, folks, but I assure you that the coffee is still hot and fresh.  The interns know better than to allow it to go stale and cold.

Nothing bad happened to cause the delay, so don’t worry.  It was just a case of my prioritizing my life.

Something very important came up during the time I set aside for blogging, and rather than stress out about it, I just bumped the blog post until a more convenient time.  Didn’t even give it a second thought.  That’s how much I’ve changed.

An old friend stopped by The House on the Hill last night, which was very nice.  Kori and I hadn’t seen each other in a couple of years, but we have remained close and keep up with other other via social media.

We met many years ago when I worked at the mental hospital, and I actually can’t remember if Kori was a patient or a coworker.  I want to say it was a coworker, but if you knew Kori, you’d understand why there’s some doubt there.

It was great to catch up and have her here to talk about the big changes in my life.  She is someone I trust with the big stuff, and it was good to get her input.

Plus, she brought her adorable dog Tyson!

Of course, it wouldn’t be Monday if I didn’t have a crazy dream to report.  At some point last night, I dreamed that I had optioned one of my scripts for $1000 to a producer who also wanted to be my manager.  He then tried to convince me to accompany him on a month long trip to Japan, where he hoped to secure the financing for the film.

Why did I dream about going to Japan?I passed on the trip citing the needed to take care of my cats.  When I awakened, Luna, the older of my kitties, was curled up on my chest and purring up a storm.  Clearly, she has the ability to experience my dreams and was pleased with me for choosing her over a journey to the Far East.

Late this afternoon, I was reminded that we are having a barbecue at work on Friday.  This means that I have to remember to go shopping at some point, preferably before Friday, to purchase enough burgers and hot dogs to feed about 50 people.  Then I have to grill it all.

Yeah, it’s a lot of work, but it’s totally worth it.  My coworkers always enjoy our cookouts, and it will make the work week pass a little quicker now that we have something to look forward to on Friday.

And the long weekend it coming!

So sorry for the delay in the start of the meeting, Modern Philosophers.  I hope I made it worth the wait.  Enjoy your coffee while I make myself some dinner.

Happy Monday!

It’s almost Tuesday!  Celebrate by following me on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 6/27/16

  1. Jennifer says:

    Ah, this work week is going to be sad for me. One of my best and brightest is leaving the company and although it’s a fantastic opportunity for her, it’s a sad day for my department. So I’ll be crying into the food day we have planned for her.

  2. Joseph Nebus says:

    My week ahead looks likely to include an amusement park visit, a pinball tournament, and maybe finding out from work why I can’t log in to the logmein software that lets me actually do my work. Could be fun.

Leave a Reply

