Monday Morning Coffee Club: Happy 4th of July!

Moday Morning Coffee Club: 7/4/16Happy Independence Day, Modern Philosophers!

I know not all of you are American, but according to yesterday’s post, a large portion of you just became American citizens today.  Congrats and welcome to the greatest country on the planet!

I’m no fan of Mondays, but I absolutely love the day when it’s a holiday and I get a long weekend out of the deal.

Sure, I’m up early, but that’s only because I want to soak up as much patriotic Fourth of July fun as possible.

That means I’ve already got the interns out on the porch working the grill.  What’s more American than red hot dogs and cheeseburgers for breakfast?  And before you get on me for making the interns work on Independence Day, just consider how much more they will appreciate their independence next July 4th when they don’t have to work.

I’m always thinking, Modern Philosophers.

So what are your plans for America’s Birthday?  Are you having a barbecue?  If so, would you like to invite me?  If you could also arrange to get me there, that would be perfect.  I think it might be a little too much to ask to make the interns drive me to your place.

I mean, I’m not a tyrant like King George!

Overall, it’s been a very relaxing weekend.  I’ve done a lot of writing, and I’ve made some major inroads in the book I’m reading.  Ironically, it’s set in England, so it’s giving me some idea of what my life might have been like if America had never fought for its independence.

Be Safe on the Fourth!While that might not sound like the most exciting use of a three day weekend, nothing relaxes me more than getting lost in a good book out on the porch, and writing is my go to activity when I have time on my hands.

Of course, all the barbecue I’m eating is adding some excitement to the weekend.

I’m simply exercising my Constitutional right to not exercise and just be lazy.

However you choose to celebrate the Fourth, please be safe and leave the pyrotechnics to the professionals.  That means do not ask the interns to set off the colorful explosives because even though they might look like they know what they’re doing, they’re just goofy college kids thinking about the next frat party they’re going to attend.

If you care to join me in a rousing rendition of “Happy Birthday, America”, the interns should be done baking and frosting the cake by around noon.  Drop by for a piece of cake and a cup of coffee.

Have a great one!  Stay patriotic, Modern Philosophers!

There’s nothing more American than following me on Pinterest!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: Happy 4th of July!

  1. Very entertaining! To me, it’s just another day but I will be going to see fireworks because who doesn’t love a good color explosion. I think we Americans love it for that extra day off and a reason to party. I need interns!,

  2. donedreaming says:

    Happy 4th of July Awesome Austin!! Enjoy your BBQ and celebrate your freedom from us crazy Brits. We’ve just had our own ‘independence day’ over here and whilst there’s no blood shed so far it’s been fairly brutal .. more to come I feel but hopefully worth it in the end 🙂 x

    • Austin says:

      I thought you guys were becoming our 51st state today…

      • donedreaming says:

        Obama crossed us off the White House Christmas card list and sent us to the back of the queue. We’re fed up sitting on the naughty step .. plus we don’t want to end up with Trump! Scotland can have him when they vote to leave the UK, he owns half of their country anyway

  3. We went to a cook-out at my sister’s house yesterday. We got there late, but I got in the pool. Fun! Today my husband finally has the day off, and we intend to spend it watching movies. Jaws and 1776 are our go-to 4th of July movies, but I hope to also see a cheesy horror movie I can write about in my blog. Personally I have a bit of melancholy today, because it is the last of ten days off. Why, oh why, could I not have been born rich instead of so damn good looking?

  4. Linda says:

    Happy 4th of July from an Aussie!!! Hope you have a lovely day! Linda. 🙂

  5. Amanda Lyle says:

    Happy 4th of July, my friend. 🎆

  6. I’ll just have to settle for watching Cake Wars on the telly tonight *sigh* LOL…enjoy the cake!

Leave a Reply

