Does The World Need Guns?

Does the World Needs Guns? | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherIt’s finally Friday night, Modern Philosophers, and once again, I’m opening the Think Tank for our weekly Deep Thoughts fest.

I’m sorry that this weekly staple disappeared from the blog for so long, but I wanted to explore a new writing opportunity, and that commitment tied up my Fridays.

But the Think Tank is back, Modern Philosophers, and it’s the perfect night for it.

As much as I like to keep the mood light on my blog, this is also a place where philosophy and intelligent debate will always be as welcome as laughter and wit.

I wouldn’t be fulfilling my duties as a Modern Philosopher if I didn’t open up the blog to a serious discussion about the issue of guns, gun violence, and our Constitutional right to bear arms.

All comments are welcome.  I simply ask that you keep it civil, avoid profanity, and show respect to your fellow Modern Philosophers.

Please feel free to share this post so that we can open the discussion to as many people as possible.  I’m eager to read what everyone has to say.

This week’s topic: After tragic shootings in Minnesota and Texas, guns are back in the headlines and all over social media.  What are your thoughts on the subject?  Do we stop such violence by limiting access to guns, by allowing everyone to carry a weapon, or is there another solution?  Did our forefathers make a mistake with the Second Amendment?

Friday Night Think Tank: Does the World Need Guns?The only time I’ve ever handled a gun, Modern Philosophers, was one summer at Boy Scout camp.  We went to a firing range, I used some sort of rifle, and I wasn’t very adept at hitting the target.

I’ve always had an interest in guns, but that’s because I’m a writer and they play a part in the stories I tell.  Some might say that my screenplays glorify violence and thereby make me pro-gun, but I would argue that I am well aware of the difference between fact and fiction.

I write to entertain, not to serve as my manifesto on gun control or a blueprint for committing violent acts.

I wouldn’t feel comfortable with a gun in my home, but I do keep a bat next to the bed.  I believe in a person’s right to self defense, but I would rather protect my home with wood instead of with bullets.

I acknowledge that law enforcement officials need to carry weapons, and that guns make the most sense, but I’m starting to think that officers need better training to limit their reliance on guns.  I know what you’re going to say…I’m not the one out there putting my life on the line every day, so I have no right to say that cops need better impulse control and less active trigger fingers.

I get that.  But can we agree that we need to cut down on officer involved shootings?

So is it a matter of better training, putting more officers on the street, making it impossible for anyone other than law enforcement officials to have a gun, or something else entirely?

I don’t know the answer.  I don’t think anyone does.

Give peace a chance. Leave your piece at home!I’d like to think we could live in a world without guns, but I’m not that naive.  Even if we outlawed firearms, people would figure out a way to get them.

We can’t send soldiers into battle armed only with knives and rocks.  Then again, if we didn’t deploy so many troops, there would be less violence in the world.

Again, probably naive, but it’s worth putting out there.

Clearly, I don’t have any answers on how to stop gun violence.  I just know that we need to do it.  Easier said than done.  So what, though?

This is a problem we must solve.

I can’t believe I’m going to say this, but I miss having Trump dominate the headlines.  I’ll take idiocy over gun violence any day.

Fill up the comments section with your Deep Thoughts.  Share this post.  Encourage your friends to chime in as well.  Maybe it will lead to something that can finally put an end to this problem.

We can’t give up hope…

You don’t have to agree with my views on guns to follow me on Pinterest…

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Does The World Need Guns?

  1. Delilah says:

    Drunk driving is illegal, people still do it. Drugs are illegal, people still use them and sell them. Prohibition didn’t stop people from drinking either. Gun laws won’t prevent criminals from killing. Until we address the issues that cause a person to want to kill another person we will never be safe. I’d rather have a gun to use if I need it. Look how many people have been controlled into thinking the government will protect you…many people die at the handsame of the very government that took their guns away. Just basic common sense. Yes, you should have to pass a competency test and psych evaluation to get one, but shutting down the manufacturing of guns for the public is not the solution. Just my thoughts.

    • Austin says:

      So you are saying we should make it harder to get a gun? If that is done, don’t you think people who can’t pass the test and eval would still figure out how to get a gun?

      • Delilah says:

        There is not a perfect answer. Yes, they will still find guns. I’m not really a strong advocate for making it harder. It’s kind of the same with parenting. Sometimes you wish people had to pass a test to procreate. I don’t think it would work in all cases. It might help, it might not. Just a thought. I’m not a fan of having to jump through hoops myself and I hate that they have shortages in ammo all the time. I have a stockpile myself, but I also have a mentally handicapped brother who easily got himself a gun and we had to have the cops hunt him down because he does NOT need any weapon at all. With him, if he couldn’t pass the test..he’d just give up. He doesn’t have the knowledge of how to get a gun any other way…which is great. I know many people would find them illegally. There really just needs to be a serious overhaul to the treatment for people with mental illness. And not just a treat em and street em. Sadly, it cost too much money and it will probably never happen. Free healthcare may sound great, but I’ve seen people wait so long for treatment and surgeries that it was too late to do any good. I don’t have the answers.

      • Delilah says:

        Sorry, I jumped onto a whole different soap box.

      • Austin says:

        No worries. This blog is a safe place to share your Deep Thoughts. 🙂

      • Austin says:

        Thanks for sharing your Deep Thoughts on this. No one has really stepped up to the plate, which saddens me…

  2. mary says:

    Reading this and the previous comments the thought just struck me; guns and other weaponry are a huge, profitable industry for many corporate entities. So “gun control” is really about placing restrictions on the individual while (yet again) leaving big corporations free to turn a profit on wholesale slaughter enabled by their products. I don’t know what the answer is, but I’m pretty sure ever-increasing regimentation and regulation of individual’s existence is just an updated form of feudalism– no matter how much flattery or how many iPhones they pacify us with.

    • Austin says:

      Thanks for jumping in on this conversation, Mary. I was beginning to think that no one had an opinion on guns, which just seems odd…

  3. I can relate to your experience with Boy Scout camp. This is the only time I’ve ever fired a weapon, too. Somehow, I never got crazed about guns. I did take up archery, but even then, I wasn’t obsessed about bows and arrows. I also agree with Delilah’s point of view about gun violence being a symptom of deeper issues. As a nation, we need to find out what these issues are. Why do people take it into their heads to go on a shooting spree? Is there something diseased at the heart of American society that leads to such horrific events? People usually don’t assault each other when they’re feeling happy or content. What would you say is the major source of anger and discontent in America today?

  4. The Hook says:

    Take the guns away and they’ll use crossbows, sadly.

Leave a Reply

