Monday Morning Coffee Club: 7/11/16

Monday Morning Coffee Club: 7/11/16Happy Monday, Modern Philosophers!

I’d usually offer you a coffee for this meeting, but since it is 7/11, perhaps you’d prefer a Slurpee instead.  Just let the interns know what flavor, and one of them will have it out to you in a moment.

We are now one week removed from National Fireworks Demolition Day, but I’m still a little jumpy from all the noise and commotion.  Some knuckleheads in the neighborhood continue to shoot off random fireworks at night, and I just wish their supply would run out so I can finally have some peace.

It was a rainy, uneventful weekend at The House on the Hill.  Pretty much the way I like them.  After battling the lawn and the bamboo on Saturday morning, I allowed myself to relax, read, write, and veg in front of the TV.

I was a big fan of yesterday’s entry in the Sundays With Satan Short Story Series.  It has received high praise from my fellow Modern Philosophers, and more shares on Facebook than the series usually gets.  Maybe it was because I worked a little Bruce Springsteen into the story, or perhaps it was my interesting take on love and relationships.

Either way, I’m proud of the tale and hope you will read it.  You can check out Who’s Gonna Stop The Rain, by clicking on the link over there on the right.  And if you like it, please feel free to share it on Facebook, Twitter, etc.  Thank you!

I’m remembering that there was a little bit of excitement last night, now that I’m waking up and my brain has rebooted.

On a whim, I decided to message Matthias to see if there was any news on Gunther.  As always seems to happen, after that first round of exciting new information, there has been nothing but silence from Hollywood.  I’m used to it, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t get disappointed with the same old roller coaster ride.

Matthias wrote right back and asked me what I thought of making one of my other screenplays first.  Of course that was going to intrigue me.  Gunther has always been the first priority, but I’m all for producing another of my scripts.

I knew the reason why Matthias would change strategy, but it was nice to have him confirm it.  The other script, which I hadn’t realized he was so high on making, would be cheaper to produce.  So it makes sense to put that one first in line as it would be easier to secure the financing for a smaller budget.

Then, after the movie is a success, it becomes much simpler to get the kind of budget we need to make Gunther correctly.  Bigger budgets don’t always mean better movies, but in this case, I trust Matthias considering how great he was able to make The Retirement Party look on such a paltry budget.

Chasing the dreamAt this point, I really don’t care which of my screenplays gets made next.  I just want something to go into production so that my screenwriting career moves forward.

Being chained to a desk forty hours a week doesn’t inspire or motivate me to greatness, and I just want to be doing something that excites me and gives my life meaning.

Is that too much to ask?  I’m not looking to hit it big or win an Oscar.  I just want to be writing full time and using my brain for more creative and entertaining pursuits.

Never stop chasing your dream, Modern Philosophers.  If nothing else, all that running is an excellent cardio workout…

I’m going to leave you with that Deep Thought and go prepare myself for another day chained to my desk.

Have a great Monday!  Enjoy the coffee and the Slurpee…

If you like what you read here, why not follow me on Pinterest?

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Monday Morning Coffee Club: 7/11/16

  1. In An Unguarded Moment says:

    Hehe, I love the quote, and I agree wholeheartedly….being chained to a desk for 40 hours a week isn’t motivating or uplifting in any way, shape, or form. I hope you get a screenplay picked up and produced asap!

  2. Peggy Nolan says:

    Good luck with your script writing. I find myself writing despite the fact I have a corporate job. I find it allows me to pursue my writing dreams (and now my painting dreams) 🙂 Happy Monday!

  3. grannyK says:

    I hope, hope, HOPE good things happen for you! I agree that a desk job sucks. I did it for a few years. My job does not pay a lot, but I can at least move around as much as I want! I found that sitting made my back hurt and my legs ache.

  4. The Hook says:

    “Never stop chasing your dreams”
    Those words couldn’t have come at a better time, buddy.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

