What Would You Do With $10,000?

What Would You Do With $10,000? | The Return of the Modern PhilosopherDon’t get overly excited, Modern Philosophers!  This is NOT the world’s greatest blog give away where I bestowed $10,000 upon the reader who gives the best answer as to how he would spend the money.

I just thought that the blog had gotten a little too serious, and that life had been a bit depressing lately, so I wanted to improve the mood and restore the positive vibe.

On Sunday night, I had a conversation with Mathias, my producer/director friend, about the state of our movie making endeavor.  We’ve discussed turning my screenplay, .33 REVERSE GUNTHER into Matthias’ next feature film (he previously directed THE RETIREMENT PARTY from my screenplay), so when he asked me how I’d feel about making WATCHING YOU before GUNTHER, it not only intrigued me, but also gave my inner screenwriter the chills.

Our conversations have always focused on GUNTHER, so finding out that Matthias wants to produce at least one more of my screenplays was an unexpected and much needed jolt to my confidence.

Even though I never get too caught up in the hype because deals always fall through at the last minute, I did allow myself to daydream a little.  I started to wonder what I’d do with a little extra money in my life from the sale of two screenplays, but I knew enough not to dream too big.

.33 Reverse GuntherIf these movies get made, they will have small budgets, which means no major payday for the talented and awkwardly handsome screenwriter.  I was paid $10,000 for the option on CLOSE TO ME, the screenplay that got me “discovered” in Hollywood, so I used that as the amount I’d hypothetically make in this deal.

The first thing I bought with my CLOSE TO ME money was The Police’s Greatest Hits CD since the script was inspired by “Don’t Stand So Close To Me”.  I also bought a new bed and a futon.  Hopefully, I managed to use some of the money for something a little more exciting.

This time around, I have to admit that my first thought was very responsible.  Should I use the $10,000 to pay off a debt?  The mortgage is too high for that amount of money to make any sort of substantial dent, but it would pay off the second mortgage with plenty left over for a little fun.

Then I thought about getting new windows for The House on the Hill.  This is an ancient structure with old, drafty windows and it costs a small fortune to heat it every winter.  New windows have been discussed a great deal lately, and $10,000 would go a long way towards paying for that job to be done.

The House on the Hill gets cold in the winter!I could definitely use a new car since I’ve had Zombie Car almost 15 years.  $10,000 wouldn’t get me anything brand new, but it could buy me a nice used vehicle, or serve as a down payment on something new.

The House on the Hill needs new furniture, a new fridge, work done on the electric, new insulation, and basically an entire facelift if there was money around to pay for it.

Of course, not every thought was a responsible one.  I’d enjoy going on an amazing vacation to some dream destination I could never afford.  I’ve always wanted a pinball machine, my own Snapple dispenser, and a proper writer’s room.

I’d love to be able to spoil my special someone with the gifts she deserves, take her to New York for the weekend just to see the Yankees and then eat hot dogs on a carriage ride around Central Park, and buy her that one piece of jewelry she really wants.

I also wouldn’t mind a new laptop, a better phone, a cooler TV, and year round lawn mowing and snow clearing services.

I wanna have Howell money!Yes, Modern Philosophers, there is a part of me that wants to live like Thurston Howell, III (before the shipwreck, of course) and not have a care in the world.

Then again, I would also calculate how long I could survive on $10,000 before I’d have to work again, and figure out if that were enough time for me to do whatever it would take to become a full time writer.

The animal lover in me would also want to make a sizeable donation to the Bangor Humane Society.  Can’t forget about the kitties and the puppies!

There is so much I’d do with $10,000, Modern Philosophers.  How about you?

Fun Fact: Following me on Pinterest won’t cost one penny of your $10,000!

About Austin

Native New Yorker who's fled to the quiet life in Maine. I write movies, root for the Yankees, and shovel lots of snow.
This entry was posted in Humor, Philosophy, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to What Would You Do With $10,000?

  1. Easy: Maya and I would go on an extended vacation. First to Finland to explore and pick up Josh and Sonja, then we’d all travel down through Europe to the south coast of Spain to visit Sonja’s family.

    I should have done that instead of move to Portland. Oh well. Live and learn.

  2. Buy a wee Scottish cottage? Adopt a gazillion animals? Sail/take the rail around the world? (Boy, 10K goes by quick.)

  3. Gail Kaufman says:

    I’m torn between liposuction and Botox treatments. Just kidding – I’m not that shallow. But I have been in that situation where a windfall becomes anticlimactic because you just can’t have it all. I have an idea – ask Trump – if he knows nothing else, he does know how to make his money earn money.

  4. Gail Kaufman says:

    Oh, you know him too well.

  5. stomperdad says:

    With 10k I could finally take the kids to Legoland! Perhaps I’d buy my blog address, too.

  6. Gilly says:

    Straight into the mortgage!

  7. Amanda Lyle says:

    Shopping spree!!!! 😊

  8. grannyK says:

    *sigh* I would have to use it to pay rent and bills. My current job only pays about half of what I need to have a place to live and savings is dwindling. Nobody wants to hire an older person! No fun stuff for me with the $10,000.00.

  9. Solar panels…now that I live in Colorado instead of Vermont I can feel annoyingly virtuous and have extra fun data to check every month.

  10. John says:

    Two things: Upgrade the master bathroom (5k-6k) and throw the rest in our travel/fun account

  11. Laidig says:

    Based on the exchange rate, $10k in £ would just about fund a ski instructorship course, with a very very very very VERY slim food budget for the time I’d spend doing it. Part responsible-part day dreamer?

Leave a Reply

